It is currently Tue Nov 20, 2018 5:32 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: NSA or p8NES??
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 8:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:37 am
Posts: 223
Location: San ANto, TX
Which one of these is a better nametable arranger? I keep wanting you use NSA but its too hard to put all the files in order is there a way to keep them from coming up all jumbled up on the screen? I want to try p8NES but i dont know how to get it Start. I know i need to put bin files into bin of Mingw, but i just dont know how to bring the compiler into the PATH of the command prompt. Can someone give me instruction on how to open p8nes or how to unjumble tiles in NSA.

Thanks in advance
EL


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 9:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:15 pm
Posts: 394
An easy way that I use to get to programs in a command prompt is just make a .bat file that goes straight to that directory. Seeing as how p8nes has more than one program that you can use in that directory, it makes it easier to access each one this way:

Code:
cmd
cd "C:\path\to\program\"


I just put that in a .bat file, click on it, then whatever program I want to use I type in the commands to bring it up.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 9:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:37 am
Posts: 223
Location: San ANto, TX
well this is what it says in the p8nes doc:

To compile it on DOS and Windows, pull up a command prompt, bring
your compiler into the PATH, and type
make -f makefile.dj

and heres what it says in the Mingw doc:
If you want to create a Windows executable hello.exe, from a c file called hello.c, try the following:

gcc -c hello.c

Am i supposed to open Mingw or simply make output file?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20789
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
If you just want to use the programs on Windows, just download the Allegro 4.0 DLL (which should be on the same page where you got Pin Eight NES Tools) and put it in the same folder as the exe. You only need MinGW (a version of the GCC compiler toolchain for Windows) if you want to recompile the programs, and you only need other versions of GCC if you want to compile the programs on another platform.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 11:45 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2005 3:15 pm
Posts: 394
I'm a little confused here... are you trying to compile it? There are some binaries that came with it already. I figured you were just trying to run the program because of this statement:

Quote:
I want to try p8NES but i dont know how to get it Start.


If that's what it is, be sure to put the Allegro dll file in the directory with the .exe files supplied. You can find that on the same page as the rest of the Pin Eight tools.

http://www.pineight.com/pc/#allegdll

EDIT: Tepples beat me too it :P


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 2:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:37 am
Posts: 223
Location: San ANto, TX
OK nevermind im stupid. But i got another question. How come whenever i open up some other program in a Nametable arranger i see all their tiles but when i open something i made in yy-chr and saved as a .chr file all i see is just fuzzy data. i even tried to make a simple design to see if it was just becasue i had to tiles to sort thourgh and still nothing. Same thing happens when i load it in NGC. But when i open up the ZELDA.CHR it comes up. What is wrong with me:(?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 3:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:37 am
Posts: 223
Location: San ANto, TX
Has ne one got bmp2nes or bmp2tiles to work. Can used to solve my above problem. I cant get it to work. Says it cant read bmp files. What do i do? Does it need to be a specifice size or do i have to used with another program?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 4:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20789
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Bitmaps to be fed into bmp2tiles have to be 1. in the current working directory (or with an appropriate path provided) and 2. in indexed format (not 24-bit true color).

If you see fuzzy data in YY-CHR or 8TED or Tile Layer Pro, then you're probably looking at the file in the wrong format. In 8TED, press F1 a few times to cycle among the formats until the image resolves. Some editors can guess the format based on the file name suffix (.nes, .smc, .gba, etc.), but more generic suffixes (.chr, .bin, etc.) may not be autodetected properly.

In addition, UNROM and SNROM games, such as Contra, The Legend of Zelda, and Who's Cuter, have CHR RAM instead of CHR ROM, and many such games compress their tile data. Generic tile editors don't support game-specific compression formats; you'll need to find (e.g. on romhacking.net) or develop custom extractors and inserters.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sun Apr 23, 2006 4:36 pm 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 20, 2004 6:04 am
Posts: 3584
Location: Indianapolis
nineTENdo wrote:
Has ne one got bmp2nes or bmp2tiles to work. Can used to solve my above problem. I cant get it to work. Says it cant read bmp files. What do i do? Does it need to be a specifice size or do i have to used with another program?


Try Tile Molester or Tile Layer Pro for importing graphics to NES format (just be sure to set the mode to 2BPP/NES first), those have worked well for me. You'll need to have some java stuff installed for Tile Molester.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:37 am
Posts: 223
Location: San ANto, TX
how can i write to chrram like them.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Apr 24, 2006 9:53 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 1849
The pattern tables (CHR) are at $0000-1FFF in ppu memory. If you want to write to CHR-RAM, you must write each byte and fill that block.

Of course for you to write to CHR-RAM, you must first HAVE CHR-RAM. 99% of the time this means you can't have any CHR-ROM. Only a handful of boards have both CHR-ROM and RAM, most only have one. So you're usually stuck with just one or the other.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 9:11 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:37 am
Posts: 223
Location: San ANto, TX
How come i cant place whats in the pattern table to the name table in P8nes? HOw come the entire pattern table wont show up on NSA?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 10:39 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 10, 2004 6:47 pm
Posts: 1849
You don't want to put what's in the pattern table to the nametable. They're two entirely different things.

The pattern table is the actual graphics. The pixels that make up each 8x8 tile. The nametable says what tiles go where on the screen.


If it helps to think of it this way... the nametable represents the screen. Each byte in the nametable specifies which 8x8 tile gets put in the coresponding area on the screen. Whereas the pattern tables are the tileset being used -- the bytes here are the actual pixels that get drawn when the tile is to be drawn.


For example:

Say the pattern tables contain graphics which represent the alphabet. tile $00 would have an 8x8 pixel image which looks like an "A"... tile $01 would have an 8x8 image that looks like "B", tile $02 looks like "C", etc

Then say you want to print "TEST" to the screen. You would need to write to the nametables to put 4 tiles on the desired area of the screen (one tile for each letter).

Since:

$04 = "E"
$12 = "S"
$13 = "T"

you would want to write "13 04 12 13" to the name tables. This would indicate that the T, E, S, and T tiles are to be drawn.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 12:37 am
Posts: 223
Location: San ANto, TX
I dont want to create my graphics in p8nes i just want to postion my tiles from the graphics i created in YY-CHR. I can do it in NSA but only with a limited amount for tiles from the pattern tables created in YY-CHR. But i cant seem to that in p8nes.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 27, 2006 11:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10977
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
nineTENdo wrote:
I dont want to create my graphics in p8nes i just want to postion my tiles from the graphics i created in YY-CHR. I can do it in NSA but only with a limited amount for tiles from the pattern tables created in YY-CHR. But i cant seem to that in p8nes.

What do you mean by "limited ammount"? If you have an 8KB tileset (512 tiles) but are only able to use 256 of them, that's how it works. That's because only 256 tiles can be used to compose the bacground. There are 512 tiles avaliable because (usually) one half is used for the background and the other one for sprites. The name tables can make use of either pattern table, but only one at a time.

If you want to use more than 256 tiles to compose a screen, you'll need to resort to more complicated tricks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group