Running emulator tests

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

DaNES

Running emulator tests

Post by DaNES » Mon May 16, 2016 8:13 am

I've decided I'm going to try and build a NES emulator! :) It's something I've always wanted to do (just for fun/learning) but never gotten around to. I've never done anything like this at all; I am a complete noob. All of my programming experience is in fairly high-level languages like C# (which is what I'm doing this in, for now...).

I've made a quick start and implemented a few basic LDA instructions and created some tests:

http://imgur.com/EKDXmZv

These seem to work, though I don't know if I'm doing this in a good way.. Since I'm a noob, there's a danger I'll implement both my code and tests wrong, but everything will look good. I figured maybe I should try and use someones existing test suite instead.

I came across the Emulator Tests page which has a lot of links on it, including:
nestest fairly thoroughly tests CPU operation. This is the best test to start with when getting a CPU emulator working for the first time. Start execution at $C000 and compare execution with a log from Nintendulator, whose CPU works (apart from some details of the power-up state).
This sounds quite promising, but it's just a binary file. It leaves me with some questions!
  1. Is it as simple as reading the bytes from this file to replace my hard-coded bytes, or is there more to this format? (I'm guess it's not this simple, as the page says "Start execution at $C000", which my maths says is 49152 bytes in, yet the fie is only 25k?)
  2. Will this thing work at all without an already-complete set of opcode implementations?
  3. Is there any info on that log file format anywhere? Some of it looks obvious, but some of it less so!
Any pointers would be greatly appreciated :-)

tepples