It is currently Sun Mar 26, 2017 5:47 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:28 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 10:31 am
Posts: 6
I generally like to develop on Unix-like systems. Currently I'm on a macbook and I've found getting good tools built for OSX rare and hard to come by. Compiling open source tools has often been fussy and difficult process too. I've had this same problem in the past whenever booting in Ubuntu. DOSbox, WINE, and Parallels will work in most cases, but I'd really like to be able to do everything on OSX (or even Linux) so I can stay to one system and use EMACS. CA65 is compatible as far as assemblers go (I'm thinking of trying to compile ASM6 sometime though), but ports of NESTOPIA and FCEUX on OSX that I've tried lack the ability to view machine states. Anyone have any recommendations? (other than "ditch mac it sucks" please >_>)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 4:36 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 5417
Location: Seattle
I've been super pleased with Mesen's debugger, which has a functioning SDL2/Mono(GDI+) UI for cross-platform applications.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 7:55 am
Posts: 93
I'm currently developing on OSX. I use FCEUX 2.2.3 in Wine, and emacs and ca65, just as you're looking to do. Wine isn't perfect (sometimes fceux messes up and needs to be restarted, pausing is painful since there's no keyboard key for it) but it's worth it for me.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:05 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 4906
Location: Canada
dustmop wrote:
pausing is painful since there's no keyboard key for it

I think the default puts pause on the Pause/Break key but it's configurable in Config > Map Hotkeys.
As an alternative the frame advance key also works as a pause (maybe 1 frame late), and it defaults to: \

Does Pause/Break just not work with Wine, or is there another problem?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 26, 2017 11:29 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Oct 16, 2013 7:55 am
Posts: 93
Oh my god I did not know about remapping the pause key. That'll save so much mouse movement! Thanks very much!

I knew about Frame Advance (backslash), which is still great in it's own right, but not very good at unpausing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:26 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2008 3:09 pm
Posts: 284
rainwarrior wrote:
dustmop wrote:
pausing is painful since there's no keyboard key for it

I think the default puts pause on the Pause/Break key but it's configurable in Config > Map Hotkeys.
As an alternative the frame advance key also works as a pause (maybe 1 frame late), and it defaults to: \

Does Pause/Break just not work with Wine, or is there another problem?


Pause/Break works all right in Wine-d FCEUX in Linux. Must be a Mac-specific problem (do Mac keyboards even have a Pause/Break key?)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:39 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 17984
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
A full-size Mac keyboard has F15 where Pause/Break goes.

The other problem with the Pause/Break key is that not all laptops have it, even if they're designed to run Windows.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:21 pm
Posts: 74
Oh man, the fonts in the fceux debugger kill me in linux mint. At least with my setup, it uses a variable-width font in the debugger window, so it's horribly hard to read...the tab spacing doesn't line up, so opcodes aren't all in a nice column.

_________________
My games: http://www.bitethechili.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 5417
Location: Seattle
You probably need to install mscorefonts (either via winetricks or deb)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 7:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 17984
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Because the mirrors for that font package move around every so often, the .deb package that downloads it has to be updated whenever it moves. When I reinstalled Xubuntu about a month and a half ago, it had not yet been updated. Symptoms include downloads failing and pop-up reminder messages every few minutes to complete configuration of a package. But the .deb from Debian had been updated, and it worked:
Code:
wget http://ftp.de.debian.org/debian/pool/contrib/m/msttcorefonts/ttf-mscorefonts-installer_3.6_all.deb
sudo dpkg -i ttf-mscorefonts-installer_3.6_all.deb


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 11:38 am 
Offline
NESICIDE developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:55 pm
Posts: 1026
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Platinum wrote:
(other than "ditch mac it sucks" please >_>)

I've put a NESICIDE-osx.bz2 here.
It has four separate DMGs. nesicide.dmg, nes-emulator.dmg, famitracker.dmg, and famiplayer.dmg.
Please try it and let me know what you think.

EDIT: I have put an update out [same link as above] since I discovered that in OSX it isn't properly finding the CC65 toolchain.
You will want to "brew install cc65" before running NESICIDE. It should find the compiler if you've done this.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 9:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 09, 2016 9:21 pm
Posts: 74
lidnariq wrote:
You probably need to install mscorefonts (either via winetricks or deb)


Ah, that did the trick. Thank you. I can debug again without going insane.

_________________
My games: http://www.bitethechili.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 10:33 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 1419
Location: DIGDUG
My 1 week experience using Linux, so far...
-I got cc65 to compile
-I got FCEUX to run with wine
-Nintendulator crashed when I tried to assign input to keyboard
-Mesen doesn't run...maybe I need to install Mono or something

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 11:18 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 5417
Location: Seattle
dougeff wrote:
-Nintendulator crashed when I tried to assign input to keyboard
Known bug elicited in older builds of Wine & Nintendulator, but I thought that Quietust had fixed that in the newest beta release?

NintendulatorDX hasn't been rebuilt since.

Quote:
-Mesen doesn't run...maybe I need to install Mono or something
:)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Feb 09, 2017 12:53 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 1419
Location: DIGDUG
Re: lidnariq

So I should just know how to use that package (mono) that I've never heard of before on an OS that I've never used before for an emulator that I've never used before.

Got it. (not really)

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 27 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group