It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 2:35 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 4:09 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:20 am
Posts: 63
lidnariq wrote:
That message, when translated, implies to me it's no longer detecting the keyboard. VirtuaNES may be only enabling the keyboard based on the hash of the file.

This error also shows on other emulators. You can see this error after changing any graphic tiles on the FB rom.
Perhaps this is due to the DIP-switches of the FB rom.

_________________
See my hacks on Romhacking.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 4:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6178
Location: Seattle
lancuster wrote:
after changing any graphic tiles on the FB rom.
That even more strongly implies that all of these emulators are only emulating the keyboard when the hash of the file is correct.
lancuster wrote:
Perhaps this is due to the DIP-switches of the FB rom.
None exist. The only switch either completely enables or disables the battery-backed RAM in the Family Basic cartridge.

The first word of the message is transliterated "keyboard".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 5:35 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5643
Location: Canada
If it helps, the letters are:
キーボード ヲ セツゾク シテクダサイ

lancuster wrote:
Image

(Pretty sure it's saying something like "please connect the keyboard" like was suggested earlier, but I don't know enough Japanese to say for certain.)

Edit: Accidentally used ラ instead of ヲ.


Last edited by rainwarrior on Tue May 16, 2017 9:36 am, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 6:04 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 12, 2010 10:27 pm
Posts: 278
Location: Hong Kong
It is actually:
キーボード セツゾク シテクダサイ

But yeah, it meant "Please connect the keyboard".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Mon May 15, 2017 6:17 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5643
Location: Canada
Gilbert wrote:
It is actually:
キーボード セツゾク シテクダサイ

But yeah, it meant "Please connect the keyboard".

Ah, thanks for the correction. I thought I'd double checked that one, but somehow I still got it wrong. :(


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 2:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Posts: 752
Location: Sweden
Yes and as Lidnariq says, that error shows up (in V3 only, earlier Family BASIC just shows a black screen when no keyboard are connected) because emulators automatically connects the keyboard when detecting one of the Family BASIC ROM hashes. But you can still connect one manually in most emulators if you have hacked the ROM. In most emulators including Nestopia you select it from a menu and in FCEUX you press Scroll Lock.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 12:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:20 am
Posts: 63
Pokun wrote:
Yes and as Lidnariq says, that error shows up (in V3 only, earlier Family BASIC just shows a black screen when no keyboard are connected) because emulators automatically connects the keyboard when detecting one of the Family BASIC ROM hashes. But you can still connect one manually in most emulators if you have hacked the ROM. In most emulators including Nestopia you select it from a menu and in FCEUX you press Scroll Lock.

It doesn't working. :(
I tried, but no results. Can someone to remove this hash verification?

_________________
See my hacks on Romhacking.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 12:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5643
Location: Canada
lancuster wrote:
Pokun wrote:
Yes and as Lidnariq says, that error shows up (in V3 only, earlier Family BASIC just shows a black screen when no keyboard are connected) because emulators automatically connects the keyboard when detecting one of the Family BASIC ROM hashes. But you can still connect one manually in most emulators if you have hacked the ROM. In most emulators including Nestopia you select it from a menu and in FCEUX you press Scroll Lock.

It doesn't working. :(
I tried, but no results. Can someone to remove this hash verification?

In FCEUX just go to the Config menu, choose Input..., and and under Famicom Expansion Port select Family Keyboard.

Other emulators should have similar things for selecting input devices


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 12:54 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10012
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
lancuster wrote:
Can someone to remove this hash verification?

The hash verification is used to detect the Family Basic ROM and enable the keyboard automatically, if you remove it, the keyboard will still not work.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 2:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:20 am
Posts: 63
tokumaru wrote:
lancuster wrote:
Can someone to remove this hash verification?

The hash verification is used to detect the Family Basic ROM and enable the keyboard automatically, if you remove it, the keyboard will still not work.

And how to be in this case? I'm trying to adapt the ROM for VirtuaNES and I'm getting the same error. How can I bypass this verification if it can't be disabled? ScrollLock doesn't work.

_________________
See my hacks on Romhacking.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 2:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:20 am
Posts: 63
rainwarrior wrote:
lancuster wrote:
Pokun wrote:
Yes and as Lidnariq says, that error shows up (in V3 only, earlier Family BASIC just shows a black screen when no keyboard are connected) because emulators automatically connects the keyboard when detecting one of the Family BASIC ROM hashes. But you can still connect one manually in most emulators if you have hacked the ROM. In most emulators including Nestopia you select it from a menu and in FCEUX you press Scroll Lock.

It doesn't working. :(
I tried, but no results. Can someone to remove this hash verification?

In FCEUX just go to the Config menu, choose Input..., and and under Famicom Expansion Port select Family Keyboard.

Other emulators should have similar things for selecting input devices

If you seen this error - this trick isn't gonna work. :(

_________________
See my hacks on Romhacking.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 2:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5643
Location: Canada
lancuster wrote:
rainwarrior wrote:
In FCEUX just go to the Config menu, choose Input..., and and under Famicom Expansion Port select Family Keyboard.

Other emulators should have similar things for selecting input devices

If you seen this error - this trick isn't gonna work. :(

It's not a "trick", it's how you connect the keyboard in FCEUX.

...and it does work. I can make the error screen appear by switching the setting to <none> and rebooting, and it recognizes the keyboard again when I set it back to Family Keyboard.

All the hash detection does is change that setting to Family Keyboard automatically, you can do the same thing manually. I can change the file hash with a trivial edit to the ROM, and it doesn't automatically set the keyboard up when I run it (i.e. error screen) but I can still plug it in via the settings no problem.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Tue May 16, 2017 3:30 pm 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10012
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
What I meant​ was: the hash check isn't preventing the keyboard from working on the modified ROM, it's just automatically enabling it for the unmodified ROM. If you remove the hash check, the keyboard simply won't be automatically enabled for the unmodified ROM anymore, and you'll get the same error message would both ROMs, which doesn't solve your problem. Just enable the keyboard manually.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2017 5:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 18, 2016 3:20 am
Posts: 63
tokumaru wrote:
What I meant​ was: the hash check isn't preventing the keyboard from working on the modified ROM, it's just automatically enabling it for the unmodified ROM. If you remove the hash check, the keyboard simply won't be automatically enabled for the unmodified ROM anymore, and you'll get the same error message would both ROMs, which doesn't solve your problem. Just enable the keyboard manually.

Yeah, now its work. Thanks.
But there was another problem. The program doesn't want to identify the replaced symbols in VirtuaNES. I replaced the Shift-N, Shift-M and Shift-< on Russian (Japanese) layout to ":", ";" and "*". And the program doesn't want to define them as symbols.
Here is error screen:
Attachment:
err.PNG
err.PNG [ 221.72 KiB | Viewed 650 times ]

_________________
See my hacks on Romhacking.net


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Family BASIC Lessons
PostPosted: Wed May 17, 2017 6:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Posts: 752
Location: Sweden
I'm not sure what you did? Did you just change the CHR ROM or did you hack the game's code?
That syntax error looks weird. Usually it should say what line you have an error in unless you input a command in direct mode (not using a line number). But your screenshot doesn't show any direct mode inputs.
Does the same thing happen on the clean ROM?

rainwarrior wrote:
lancuster wrote:
Pokun wrote:
Yes and as Lidnariq says, that error shows up (in V3 only, earlier Family BASIC just shows a black screen when no keyboard are connected) because emulators automatically connects the keyboard when detecting one of the Family BASIC ROM hashes. But you can still connect one manually in most emulators if you have hacked the ROM. In most emulators including Nestopia you select it from a menu and in FCEUX you press Scroll Lock.

It doesn't working. :(
I tried, but no results. Can someone to remove this hash verification?

In FCEUX just go to the Config menu, choose Input..., and and under Famicom Expansion Port select Family Keyboard.

Other emulators should have similar things for selecting input devices

Ah my bad, sorry about that. Scroll Lock only toggles the enabling of the Fami keyboard inputs via your computer keyboard, it doesn't connect it.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 55 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group