nesdev.com
http://forums.nesdev.com/

Family BASIC Lessons
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=15679
Page 3 of 4

Author:  lancuster [ Wed May 17, 2017 10:20 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

Of course, I changed the values in ROM.
In short. This problem would not exist if STTONES would support savestates from FCEU/FCEUX and Nestopia.

Author:  rainwarrior [ Wed May 17, 2017 11:07 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

lancuster wrote:
Of course, I changed the values in ROM.
In short. This problem would not exist if STTONES would support savestates from FCEU/FCEUX and Nestopia.

Savestates are generally incompatible between emulators, but save RAM can usually be shared. In FCEUX this goes in the "sav" folder by default, and is an 8 KB file that should be usable with most other emulators if you just put it in the correct place and/or rename it.

Author:  lancuster [ Wed May 17, 2017 12:21 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

rainwarrior wrote:
lancuster wrote:
Of course, I changed the values in ROM.
In short. This problem would not exist if STTONES would support savestates from FCEU/FCEUX and Nestopia.

Savestates are generally incompatible between emulators, but save RAM can usually be shared. In FCEUX this goes in the "sav" folder by default, and is an 8 KB file that should be usable with most other emulators if you just put it in the correct place and/or rename it.

Will this work with STTONES? Will not give a black screen? Savestate from VirtuaNES weighs 25.192 bytes.

Author:  rainwarrior [ Wed May 17, 2017 12:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

lancuster wrote:
Will this work with STTONES?

You would have to explain what STTONES means.

lancuster wrote:
Will not give a black screen? Savestate from VirtuaNES weighs 25.192 bytes.

NOT savestates. I'm talking about save RAM. VirtuaNES will save it in the "save" folder by default, and it is also an 8 KB file with a .sav extension, same as FCEUX, same as most emulators will store it.

Author:  lancuster [ Wed May 17, 2017 2:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

rainwarrior wrote:
lancuster wrote:
Will this work with STTONES?

You would have to explain what STTONES means.

lancuster wrote:
Will not give a black screen? Savestate from VirtuaNES weighs 25.192 bytes.

NOT savestates. I'm talking about save RAM. VirtuaNES will save it in the "save" folder by default, and it is also an 8 KB file with a .sav extension, same as FCEUX, same as most emulators will store it.

File RAM does nothing, have checked more than once. Only need savestates (*.st0-.st9) completely written game with the RUN command at the end. And, seems to be, games made for STTONES, written using the real keyboard on VirtuaNES. That's why without the original keyboard, the program doesn't want to work correctly on this emulator.

Author:  rainwarrior [ Wed May 17, 2017 4:31 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

lancuster wrote:
File RAM does nothing

The game has a battery backed RAM.

I believe what you need to do to use it is type the "BACKUP" command before turning the emulator off, which will preserve the program in its battery backed save RAM. (There might be a second step, "BGGET" for saving graphics too, check the manual.)

I have tried this and been able to transfer a saved program from one emulator to another by copying the .sav file.

Author:  lancuster [ Thu May 18, 2017 12:02 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

rainwarrior wrote:
lancuster wrote:
File RAM does nothing

The game has a battery backed RAM.

I believe what you need to do to use it is type the "BACKUP" command before turning the emulator off, which will preserve the program in its battery backed save RAM. (There might be a second step, "BGGET" for saving graphics too, check the manual.)

I have tried this and been able to transfer a saved program from one emulator to another by copying the .sav file.

It's too hard for me. I've done a lot of work to optimize this program for VirtuaNES, and I really want to write and save data on it. Just tell me is it possible to optimize the special characters like ":", ";" and "*" to display them in VirtuaNES and ran it without crashing? I would also like to know why after replacing the graphics in FB, on the emulator FCE Ultra program shows an error for 2-3 seconds and then goes crazy and constantly triggered a RETURN command.

Author:  lancuster [ Thu May 18, 2017 2:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

I think that received FB games from savestates still need to turn on the keyboard, otherwise, the game is just to buggy. Maybe, should to disable the hash verification.

Author:  lidnariq [ Thu May 18, 2017 2:11 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

The hash does exactly one thing, and only one thing:

It automatically turns on the keyboard when the hash matches.

That's it. Nothing more.

Author:  lancuster [ Thu May 18, 2017 2:55 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

lidnariq wrote:
The hash does exactly one thing, and only one thing:

It automatically turns on the keyboard when the hash matches.

That's it. Nothing more.

So, if you write a game on a modified version of FB, in the future will have to enable the keyboard to play in the game? How the game will behave on a real console?

Author:  lidnariq [ Thu May 18, 2017 2:59 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

You should think "enabling the keyboard in the emulator" as identical to "plugging the keyboard into the Famicom"

Author:  lancuster [ Fri May 19, 2017 4:39 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

Now I only care about whether future games to work without the mandatory inclusion of the keyboard. As for the emulator, and on consoles.

Author:  lancuster [ Fri May 19, 2017 12:26 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

Somewhere on one site I have found information that you can copy and paste the code in Family BASIC. How this is done, anyone tried it?

Author:  Pokun [ Sun May 21, 2017 5:12 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

Some emulators supports "pasting" text you have in the clipboard into Family BASIC. Nestopia and maybe Virtuanes supports this I think. It's a macro where the emulator types everything in your clipboard in the game, it takes a while if it's a big program. Copying text in Family BASIC isn't possible, best you can do is screenshot it.

Author:  lancuster [ Sun May 21, 2017 11:23 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Family BASIC Lessons

How to paste code into Nestopia?

Page 3 of 4 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/