It is currently Sun Oct 22, 2017 3:54 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 10:01 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:20 pm
Posts: 294
Location: Colorado USA
I want to test the unity engine by making a simple 2d platformer level with graphics from Sonic so I ripped the graphics from the game into a .bmp file which I have attached to this post. So what I do is I click on add new tileset, set type to "Based on tileset image" and then set tile size to 8x8 pixels. And once I do that it says "Failed to load tile image"


Attachments:
GreenHill.bmp
GreenHill.bmp [ 62.62 KiB | Viewed 423 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 12:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10066
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Have you tried other formats? I remember some map editing tools only taking PNG.

EDIT: I hope you know that Sonic 1 maps aren't built with free placement of 8x8 tiles, but instead of 256x256-pixel chunks made of 16x16-pixel metatiles. That's kind of important to make such large levels possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2017 5:20 pm
Posts: 294
Location: Colorado USA
Well, it worked with the PNG, but I don't know why tiled was so picky with this bitmap image, it worked with other bitmaps, and a bunch of other online conversion tools I used to convert my bitmap to PNG wouldn't work with that file. Could it be because those online tools just suck? I doubt it, because even though they're usually filled with ads, they tend to get the job done. I just don't know why all of these tools wouldn't work with my file. Would any of you guys know why? I attached the actual file as an experiment to see if it worked with php which it seems to do just fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 7:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 5732
Location: Canada
BMP files come in lots of different flavours, it is probably only set up to load one particular format that BMP can do (e.g. RGB24) and has poor error messages to explain when it can't load a different format.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:46 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 10066
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
I remember using a Genesis emulator that saved the VRAM contents as a 16-color BMP, which some applications might not like. Maybe that's what you did?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group