It is currently Thu Sep 21, 2017 3:51 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 9:10 am 

Hey all!

I'm new here so pardon my utter noobness.
I've recently resolved to create a Castlevania 1 hack that I will give to my fiance as a wedding gift this December. I'm using YY-CHR to modify the sprites so that Simon is supplemented by the likeness of my fiance (wedding dress and all) and Stake to create a series of new levels. I'd also like to hopefully create unique songs for the game too since I've been tinkering with Famitracker for a couple years, but I know this is probably the most daunting aspect of the project so I'll cross that bridge in a bit.

I digress, though. Here's a very small--but, to my mind, very important--little detail I want to be able to address:
The sample in Castlevania 1 that plays when Simon is damaged is very manly sounding and I want to replace it with a more feminine sample. I'm assuming this sample is stored somewhere in the DPCM bank and is played on that channel. I was hoping there's a way to replace the existing sound with another one.
Has anyone ever tried to do this?
Any insight on the matter would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 9:22 am 

1. Read APU DMC to learn what the registers do.
  2. Watch for writes to $4010, $4012, and $4013 when Simon gets hurt to figure out the sample rate, start address, and length.
  3. Record a feminine hurt sample of the same length, and convert it to the same sample rate. Save it as a RIFF WAVE file (.wav).
  4. Use one of the converters listed in this topic, such as the GUI converter in FamiTracker or the command-line converter 81.py in Eighty, to convert the sample to the 1-bit format.
  5. Replace Simon's sample in the ROM with your new sample.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 20, 2017 9:43 am 

tepples wrote:
  1. Read APU DMC to learn what the registers do.