nesdev.com
http://forums.nesdev.com/

A small problem with a LDA opcode
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=10&t=16643
Page 2 of 2

Author:  Bregalad [ Tue Oct 31, 2017 12:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: A small problem with a LDA opcode

Why do you insist using a shitty broken nesasm when you could use another tool instead ?

Author:  Sumez [ Tue Oct 31, 2017 1:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: A small problem with a LDA opcode

Also, as a more basic solution - since "LDA $xxxx,Y" doesn't support ZP addressing mode either, why not just use a different area of RAM for this purpose? As far as I can tell, that would circumvent the supposed bug, and still work as intended with the same amount of CPU cycles?

I agree though - I don't see any reason to even use NESASM in the first place, but I have little experience with anything other than CA65 which I have come to become a great fan of, so maybe I'm missing out of NESASM features I don't even know anything about?

Author:  rainwarrior [ Tue Oct 31, 2017 1:45 am ]
Post subject:  Re: A small problem with a LDA opcode

The feature you're missing is that OP is learning by modifying an existing project that was already written in NESASM. :P

Author:  kuja killer [ Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:44 am ]
Post subject:  Re: A small problem with a LDA opcode

https://pastebin.com/nsp241uQ

This is one of puresabe's files from Rockman 4 Minus Inifnity that i use. (i dont know how any of this stuff would be translated to other assemblers, so i dont touch it, thats why i only use nesasm personally, to be honest)

I most frequently use all the branch-jump/jsr/rts ones, and i really love the "LONG_CALL" jsr, for example :)

Author:  gauauu [ Tue Oct 31, 2017 7:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: A small problem with a LDA opcode

Bregalad wrote:
Why do you insist using a shitty broken nesasm when you could use another tool instead ?


This kind of tone is what drives newcomers away from this site.

Author:  Zutano [ Tue Oct 31, 2017 11:03 am ]
Post subject:  Re: A small problem with a LDA opcode

kuja killer wrote:
i dont have a clue how they would be made to work with ASM6 or whatever.


Shiru's famitone2 library comes with a program to convert nesasm code to asm6 and ca65, it's called "nesasmc".
It's specifically designed to convert the famitone2 library itself, but you might be able to modify it to your own use-case (famitone2 includes the source for nesasmc).
https://shiru.untergrund.net/code.shtml

...Or you could try rolling your own code converter in something like Python.

Author:  Sumez [ Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: A small problem with a LDA opcode

I actually had to make a few changes to the CA65 version of famitone2 to make it work properly - mostly related to symbols that were defined inside code that was ignored as a result of other symbols. I figured something like this was the culprit. :P

Page 2 of 2 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/