It is currently Tue Jan 16, 2018 10:35 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 5:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:08 pm
Posts: 50
I want to better organize my game assets so I placed them into directories. However, I cant seem to get ASM6 to access the files. Any advice?

Here is what I was hoping ASM6 would let me do...

Code:
DAT.TITLE.Background.Tiles:
  incbin "/TILE/TITLE.chr"
DAT.TITLE.Background.Nametable:
  incbin "/TILE/TITLE.nam"
DAT.TITLE.Background.Palette:
  incbin "/TILE/TITLE.pal"
DAT.TITLE.Sprites.Palette:
  incbin "/TILE/TITLE_SPRITES.pal" 
DAT.TITLE.Sprites.Tiles:
  incbin "/TILE/TITLE_SPRITES.chr"
 
DAT.CUTSCENE1.Background.Tiles:
  incbin "/CUTSCENE1/CUTSCENE1.chr"
DAT.CUTSCENE1.Background.Nametable:
  incbin "/CUTSCENE1/CUTSCENE1.nam" 
DAT.CUTSCENE1.Background.Palette:
  incbin "/CUTSCENE1/CUTSCENE1.pal" 
DAT.CUTSCENE1.Sprites.Palette:
  incbin "/CUTSCENE1/CUTSCENE1_SPRITES.pal" 
DAT.CUTSCENE1.Sprites.Tiles:
  incbin "/CUTSCENE1/CUTSCENE1_SPRITES.chr"

DAT.Scroll.Tiles:
  incbin "/CUTSCENE1/TILES_Scroll.chr"
 
DAT.Font.Tiles:
  incbin "/FONTS/Font.chr"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Jan 11, 2018 6:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 10:52 pm
Posts: 365
Location: UT
Try removing the first slash, e.g. "TILE/TITLE.chr"


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 10:47 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:21 pm
Posts: 812
Location: cypress, texas
Do what loopy said (he made asm6!! Thank you so much loopy!! :D ) and reverse your slashes. Webpage urls use "/"; but, directory paths use "\", at least in Windows OS, what we use.
(was blessed to figure this out after opening command prompt :mrgreen: :))

Also, my sister created our "nametable" files with .db statements so we must use .incsrc for those. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 1908
Location: DIGDUG
To quote wikipedia...

"Contrary to popular belief, the Windows system API accepts slash, and thus all the above Unix examples should work. But many applications on Windows interpret a slash for other purposes or treat it as an invalid character, and thus require you to enter backslash — notably the cmd.exe shell"

That being said, I think I use forward slashes even on Windows, except in the command line.

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 7:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Posts: 939
Location: Sweden
I also use normal slashes wherever I can as backslash is a pain to enter (AltGr). I'm pretty sure I use slash in ASM6 include statements without problems.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 15, 2018 11:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Apr 23, 2009 11:21 pm
Posts: 812
Location: cypress, texas
Lucradan, sorry, like dougeff and Pokun said, normal slashes / do work just fine in ASM6. But, after being blessed with discovering that Command Prompt uses backslashes \ and changing all of the normal slashes, for directory paths, to backslashes in our game, its random spastic color flickering (normal/bright/normal) was reduced greatly. :mrgreen: :) However, I forgot that and just checked my code and found a bunch of "\"s and made a mistake. :oops: :(


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Jan 16, 2018 9:35 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 21, 2016 12:08 pm
Posts: 50
Removing the first slash fixed the problem, thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group