Rogue pixels

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

sailense

Rogue pixels

Post by sailense »

Hi all :)

I've been banging my head against this problem for a few days with no luck, so I'm hoping one of you guys could help me out. I'm a newbie NES programmer and I'm using ASM6 and 6502 assembly.

So far, I've done the Nerdy Nights tutorials and am trying my hand at my own game. I've got everything pretty much working and I even managed to integrate the GGSound engine without too much trouble. I added the examples from the https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/The_frame_and_NMIs page but now I have rogue pixels at the top left of my screen and I can't figure out where they're coming from.

I've moved the scroll values around and tried turning off the background, palette, sprites, etc. Turning off the palette blanks the screen so it's hard to tell if it's still there.
screenshot
screenshot
rogue-41.png (3.25 KiB) Viewed 4029 times
You can see it as red, white, and grey pixels at the top left.

Here's the basics of my code. Let me know if you need to see more. It's really just a framework with some custom and placeholder sprites.
Attachments
subroutines.asm
subroutines
(6.26 KiB) Downloaded 122 times
rogue.asm
main file
(5.25 KiB) Downloaded 120 times
Kasumi

Re: Rogue pixels

Post by Kasumi »

Does it still happen when you render the background, but not sprites? My first guess is "sprites.spr" is not long enough, or has errors.

My second guess is something similar with rogue.nam.

The longshot:

Behold, the way to draw all the colors on the screen at once: https://wiki.nesdev.com/w/index.php/Full_palette_demo
Normally, the PPU displays the palette byte from $3F00 as the background color. When rendering is disabled and the PPU address is in the $3F00-$3FFF range, the PPU displays the palette byte at that address.