FDS BIOS ROM image missing

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
battagline
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 11:13 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

FDS BIOS ROM image missing

Post by battagline » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:21 pm

So, I grabbed some code off of github for a project someone wrote using the ophis assembler, and I wanted to change it so I can build it with ca65.

I'm pretty new to NES Dev, but I changed the code around and got an error in FCEUX saying "FDS BIOS ROM Image missing", but I'm not sure why it would think that I'm using the Famicom Disk System (I think that's what the message is telling me).

Any suggestions of what I should try would be really helpful.

Thanks
A few of my web games
https://www.embed.com
Or if you're bored at work
https://www.classicsolitaire.com

tepples
Posts: 22284
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: FDS BIOS ROM image missing

Post by tepples » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:23 pm

Does your ROM have an iNES header? The lack of one could produce the FDS BIOS error message.

Could you post at least the linker script that you are passing to ld65, as well as the part of the assembly language source code that outputs the iNES header?

Or do you not know what any of the above means?

lidnariq
Posts: 10260
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: FDS BIOS ROM image missing

Post by lidnariq » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:24 pm

As long as the thing that you've made looks like a NES file (first 3 bytes are "NES", not "FDS"), you shouldn't need the FDS BIOS.

User avatar
battagline
Posts: 152
Joined: Wed Sep 05, 2018 11:13 am
Location: Colorado
Contact:

Re: FDS BIOS ROM image missing

Post by battagline » Sun Sep 16, 2018 5:38 pm

You guys are right... it was missing the header information. I've never used ophis, so I'm not sure what it did to include that header information.

It's still not working, but now at least it's not throwing the FDS error.

Thanks for your help
A few of my web games
https://www.embed.com
Or if you're bored at work
https://www.classicsolitaire.com

ZachGamer64
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Nov 30, 2020 2:37 am

Re: FDS BIOS ROM image missing

Post by ZachGamer64 » Mon Nov 30, 2020 2:39 am

what is header information

Post Reply