It is currently Mon Jun 17, 2019 4:23 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 7:45 am 

I'm very new to NES homebrew development, but I saw this NESDev competition (https://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=17743) ending at the end of January that I'm very interested in trying to get an entry into. One of the requirements for the competition is that the game is Mapper 28 compatible which I've gathered is so that the multicart they create at the end of January works right with multiple games on it. What I haven't figured out is how you make a game Mapper 28 compatible? It also says that there can be no PRG-RAM, do they mean that I can't bank switch to access more memory or use the NRAM on the cart? (Also if that last sentence makes no sense can someone also help with my understanding of bank switching and NRAM?)

Thank you!

PostPosted: Thu Jan 10, 2019 8:22 am 

paetramon wrote:
I'm very new to NES homebrew development, but I saw this NESDev competition (https://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=34&t=17743) ending at the end of January that I'm very interested in trying to get an entry into. One of the requirements for the competition is that the game is Mapper 28 compatible which I've gathered is so that the multicart they create at the end of January works right with multiple games on it. What I haven't figured out is how you make a game Mapper 28 compatible?

If you make your game to use one of the mappers that it mentions, you'll generally be ok:
NROM
CNROM
BNROM
UNROM
AOROM

Quote:
It also says that there can be no PRG-RAM, do they mean that I can't bank switch to access more memory or use the NRAM on the cart? (Also if that last sentence makes no sense can someone also help with my understanding of bank switching and NRAM?)

You can bank switch, and use ROM from multiple banks, but you can't use a mapper with expansion RAM (other than CHR-RAM). SRAM or additional WRAM, for example, are not allowed.