Do some emulators intentionally implement overscan?

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
ericandrewlewis
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:13 pm
Location: Lower East Side
Contact:

Do some emulators intentionally implement overscan?

Post by ericandrewlewis » Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:49 am

If I open a ROM of mine in Nintaco, I can see the first and last 8 scanlines/row of nametable tiles are not displayed.

However, if I open up the same rom in Nestopia they're rendered.

Do some emulators like Nintaco intentionally implement overscan?
Last edited by ericandrewlewis on Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11465
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Re: Do some emulators intentionally implement overscan?

Post by tokumaru » Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:54 am

Yes, several emulators hide scanlines at the top and bottom of the screen by default. Some games have glitches in those areas, so this is supposed to make them look better. This is usually configurable though, do you can choose to see the whole picture if you want to.

User avatar
koitsu
Posts: 4215
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Location: A world gone mad

Re: Do some emulators intentionally implement overscan?

Post by koitsu » Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:56 am

Nestopia -> Options -> Video -> now you know what some of the "NTSC Screen" and "PAL Screen" values are for.

Post Reply