It is currently Fri May 24, 2019 10:35 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:13 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Lower East Side
If I open a ROM of mine in Nintaco, I can see the first and last 8 scanlines/row of nametable tiles are not displayed.

However, if I open up the same rom in Nestopia they're rendered.

Do some emulators like Nintaco intentionally implement overscan?


Last edited by ericandrewlewis on Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:54 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 11348
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
Yes, several emulators hide scanlines at the top and bottom of the screen by default. Some games have glitches in those areas, so this is supposed to make them look better. This is usually configurable though, do you can choose to see the whole picture if you want to.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Feb 02, 2019 7:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 4077
Location: A world gone mad
Nestopia -> Options -> Video -> now you know what some of the "NTSC Screen" and "PAL Screen" values are for.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group