Making a Cartridge Dumper for my Emulation System

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

ToxicNugget

Making a Cartridge Dumper for my Emulation System

Post by ToxicNugget » Wed Mar 18, 2020 8:11 am

Hi, I'm a student and am making an electronics project for a class that pretty much clones the NES in a means of learning about the workings of these older consoles and more about the 6502 CPU etc.
I have started programming an NES emulator with the help of online resources and so far I am finding it really interesting.
Now my only question is that after I have finished the programming of this emulator and I will have it running on a Raspberry Pi which will be able to plug into a TV, is there any way I can make a cartridge reader with the help of an Arduino, etc, that will be able to generate a ROM and copy it over serial to the Pi? I am thinking of using one of the 72 pin connectors like this but have no idea where to start from an electronics perspective:

I know there are existing products that can do this but I want to be able to learn how to do this for myself, which would make it a much more fulfilling project. If anybody could give me any tips or pointers I would be very grateful :)

Quietust

Re: Making a Cartridge Dumper for my Emulation System

Post by Quietust » Wed Mar 18, 2020 9:56 am

In order to interact with an NES cartridge, you're going to need a 5 volt I/O interface, so you'll need to make sure your Arduino can actually do that. Note that "5V tolerant" might not be good enough - those can typically handle 5V input but only generate 3.3V output, which might not be enough for an NES cart.

Once you've got that, there are a few important setup steps you need to do: