Noob questions about 6502 Assembly

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

Esns68

Noob questions about 6502 Assembly

Post by Esns68 » Sun Jan 31, 2021 10:30 pm

I am completely new to SNES assembly, though I have attempted a couple times in the past. I had more experience with C++.
I always found assembly too complicated to even start but now for the first time I'm actually starting to learn everything.

There's a few things here and there I still don't understand so I thought I'd ask them here. I find them to be small questions so I did decide to make them in one past rather than post one for each, if that's okay. If that is against forum rules or anything, please let me know and I will fix it.

1. Any systems I need to be familiar with (Besides the instructions and memory map)? Like the data system, which I learned in C++ (Int, long, signed etc), is all that exactly the same in assembly?
And in assembly (6502) What all operators are used and how are they used ( "/" ":" etc). Looking at source code I see things like
ldx #\2
lda #:\1
What would all those operators be doing in that code for example?

2. What is the difference between all the different kinds of functions, like labels, segments etc? What all of these are there, and what is the difference between each, how is each made and used, and how are they called? Also just wondering, which one of those can you use most similar to C++ function where you can pass values/arguments down?

So far, I think label are written as their own name alone and a semicolon. "LABEL:". Are "Labels" created without any predefining or anything like that, you can just go ahead and write them?

3. I'm also having trouble understanding what .db does even after research it. So I understand it means "Define Byte". At first I got the impression