Random junk appearing when trying to load background

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

Randomletters367

Random junk appearing when trying to load background

Post by Randomletters367 » Wed Feb 03, 2021 4:25 pm

I'm new to 6502 programming and have been trying to learn how to draw backgrounds on the NES. I learned the basics of name tables, attribute tables, and palettes already. As a test, I tried to write the first 128 tiles with the same '?' tile, but when I do this there remains a top row of tiles that use a palette that the no attribute maps to and wont go away, even if I redraw. Is there some address in memory that I have to clear? I can put in some of my code if it would help.

Also I have never used a message board before so sorry if my formatting is wack. :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :cry: :oops: :D
Attachments
Mario is just a sprite
Mario is just a sprite

unregistered

Re: Random junk appearing when trying to load background

Post by unregistered » Wed Feb 03, 2021 5:07 pm

hi Randomletters367,

Perhaps a more skilled person will reply, but when I started out I remember two rows of random tiles along the top of my screen. It seems that those horrible rows vanished after I used the debugger to step through a frame of my code. As a result of those steps, I noticed that vblank would keep running for an entire frame, and then, vblank would interrupt itself and restart before it finished.