A newbie's code evaluation

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

zanto

A newbie's code evaluation

Post by zanto » Mon Mar 08, 2021 12:18 am

Hello! This week I started studying NES homebrew development. I've been reading the nesdev wiki, watching a bunch of tutorials on Youtube and reading random sites with tutorials, 6502 references and all that jazz. So far, I have made a very simple NES demo with a ship that can be moved using the d-pad and a scrolling background.

I've attached to this post what I've worked on so far. I wonder if it'd be possible for a more experienced developer to look at my source code and point out improvements for it. I know worrying about optimizations and things like that is probably not necessary since I've just started learning, but at least I'd like to know more and avoid developing bad habits, specially when it comes to drawing sprites and processing input which is a super basic thing for any game. :) After reading about how limited is the NES hardware, I got kinda paranoid!

I have no idea if this is something I can ask other people to do, so I apologize if this ends up sounding rude.

A few problems I've run into and had to work around:
- I couldn't use a branch instruction because the label it pointed to was too far away.
- I couldn't come up with a generic way to draw 16x16 sprites. I have a routine to draw a player sprite, but if I have to do something like that for every 16x16 sprite, I'll end up using a lot of memory just for that.

Also, I only program as a hobby, so I apologize if my code is too messy...
Attachments
Secondgame.zip
(20.11 KiB) Downloaded 35 times

calima

Re: A newbie's code evaluation

Post by calima » Mon Mar 08, 2021 12:45 am

1. ca65 has macros that automatically use a branch or a comparison-jump depending on the distance. "jne" instead of "bne", etc.