It is currently Tue Nov 21, 2017 12:42 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: I'm stumped >_>
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:19 pm 

I'm kinda new to NES programming, and my first project is a simple platformer...
On the real NES, and in Nestopia, my character flickers badly, but it works just fine in FCEUX for some reason...
If anyone can help me find what the problem is, I'd really appreciate it...
NovaNES.zip

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 2:48 pm 

First off, welcome!

I only briefly looked over your code, but I don't think that you're doing sprite DMA in Vblank. Put the lda #2 sta $4014 in the NMI routine, and see what happens.

EDIT: Also, your ASM file is quite messy. Perhaps you should use borders like ";***********" and keep all code indented by the same amount. And I would also suggest making comments indented to the same spot. That's just a suggestion; I find it easier to debug when the code is organized. Though if you can work with it, then do whatever you want :) .

And I also should mention that there's no need to add $800,x to the RAM clearing loop. $800 is a mirror of Zero Page, so you're essentially clearing the same spot twice (though you're using absolute addressing and taking more time/space).

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 03, 2009 7:16 pm 

Celius wrote:
First off, welcome!

I only briefly looked over your code, but I don't think that you're doing sprite DMA in Vblank. Put the lda #2 sta $4014 in the NMI routine, and see what happens.

EDIT: Also, your ASM file is quite messy. Perhaps you should use borders like ";***********" and keep all code indented by the same amount. And I would also suggest making comments indented to the same spot. That's just a suggestion; I find it easier to debug when the code is organized. Though if you can work with it, then do whatever you want :) .