Newbie Here: Help me get started

Are you new to 6502, NES, or even programming in general? Post any of your questions here. Remember - the only dumb question is the question that remains unasked.

Moderator: Moderators

mitchondria

Newbie Here: Help me get started

Post by mitchondria »

Hello everyone,

The names Drake, Im a NES video game collector and have alot of donor carts sitting around gathering dust. Ive been looking into reproduction carts for awhile now, just on games that were never released (Bio-Force Ape, Earthbound Zero, ETC).

I have talked to people that sell them and they want some ridiculous prices, especially when its something I feel like I can learn to do myself. Im a computer technician full time so I feel pretty knowledgeable in tech. But ive never pursued programming eeproms.

Can anyone give me any info to get me started? I know I need a programmer, but not sure what Type kind im looking for (since im lacking in chip knowledge).

Thanks everyone...
tepples

Post by tepples »

There are three scenarios:
  1. Making carts to play. The easiest way to do that is with a PowerPak.
  2. Making carts to sell. We sort of frown on that here, unless they're homebrew games licensed to allow distribution on carts for a fee.
  3. Making carts to be able to show in a collection.
You're a C, right?
mitchondria

Post by mitchondria »

Yes deffinately a C.

Im wanting something that look original when I play it or have it shelved. I have some cartridges like double dragon which the nesproduction guy uses on his list to make his repro that he sells. Im not interested in selling them, just wanting to add them to my collection.
mitchondria

Post by mitchondria »

Im really really wanting to play bioforce ape, but dont want to do it on a pc and emulator cause it just doesnt feel real.

I need to be able to blow into the cartrisge just in case,you know for that vintage feeling lol.
tokumaru

Post by tokumaru »