It is currently Tue Oct 24, 2017 12:50 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


Related:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 70 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 8:36 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:30 am
Posts: 34
Maybe I try to use sprites and a mode 7 bkg.

Is it possible to make "perspective" in mode 7 without using any special chip?
I didn't see the option in pvsneslib, i just saw the flat rotating sample with no perspective.

Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19122
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Mills wrote:
Is it possible to make "perspective" in mode 7 without using any special chip?

F-Zero uses no coprocessor.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 2:41 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2014 9:31 pm
Posts: 788
It's basically down to how much math you need to do on the fly. Pilotwings probably needed a DSP-1 because it had to scale, rotate, and change perspective (X-axis rotation, ie: angling the camera up and down) based on control input, which seems like it would require real-time manipulation of HDMA tables. It also had a lot of green dots to track in 3D space.

F-Zero didn't change the perspective angle at all during a race; only the Z-axis rotation angle (left/right), and when it did change perspective it was in a prescheduled and (I imagine) easily tabulated way. It also had a fairly tiny handful of opponents on screen at the same time. Super Mario Kart didn't change the perspective angle either, but it had two playfields to keep track of and a lot more sprites that had to be handled in 3D...

Pilotwings was also a very early game; it's possible the programmers were too unfamiliar with the system to optimize their code well. But this hypothesis doesn't seem to fit Super Mario Kart. And since you're using C, I'm not sure it really matters anyway...

I'd guess that if your Mode 7 is following a predetermined pattern, even a complex one, you should be able to substantially reduce the amount of math required by tabulating stuff, and you shouldn't need a DSP-1. But I haven't tried any of this personally...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 28, 2014 6:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19122
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I think Pilotwings was developed back when Nintendo thought it was going to include a DSP on the SNES motherboard.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Dec 05, 2014 9:53 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:30 am
Posts: 34
I finally made it.
It includes 60 songs to play. Source includes .it music files.

:D


Attachments:
JUKEBOX.rar [1.35 MiB]
Downloaded 160 times
SOURCE.rar [3.96 MiB]
Downloaded 145 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 10, 2014 1:04 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 11:37 am
Posts: 208
Location: Wisconsin
Sounds good. Tried it from a SD2SNES.
Wasn't able to crash it.

What is love? (Baby don't hurt me)...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 3:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:30 am
Posts: 34
I updated the project, now using mode 3, (256 colors + 16 colors).

Image


I want to make a wavy background, is there any function to do this in pvsneslib?

I tried this way, but it is too slow:

Code:
if (BKG_W > 120) BKG_W = 0;
for (v = 0; v < 225; v++) REG_BG2HOFS = BKG_Wave[v+BKG_W] ;
BKG_W++;


Thanks


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed May 13, 2015 8:37 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 1:47 pm
Posts: 329
Location: FL
Are you still accepting music submissions? I have a bunch of .it files I edited and converted just to play around with snesmod (mostly Amiga stuff, some others).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 3:17 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:30 am
Posts: 34
Revenant wrote:
Are you still accepting music submissions? I have a bunch of .it files I edited and converted just to play around with snesmod (mostly Amiga stuff, some others).


Yes, i'll accept just a few.

The rom is now 4 MB and i don't want to make it bigger, i'll have to erase some of the songs i added (some of them are not playing very well).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 12:58 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19122
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Hopefully I can make it into volume 2 once I figure out how to make Super NES music.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 3:30 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:30 am
Posts: 34
So, anyone knows if the wave background effect can be done in pvsneslib?.
SGDK (megadrive-genesis development kit) includes a function to do that in C, so I thought it could be done on SNES.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 14, 2015 4:12 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6304
Location: Seattle
Maybe I'm confused, but isn't that "set up the correct HDMA table" ?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 8:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:30 am
Posts: 34
lidnariq wrote:
Maybe I'm confused, but isn't that "set up the correct HDMA table" ?


I didn't know how it was called, I googled a bit and that's what i what. Not in asm, but in c with pvsneslib.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 9:05 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6304
Location: Seattle
I have never done this, but as far as I know, setting up HDMA on the SNES comes down to 1- set up the correct array in memory and then 2- correctly initializing the DMA/HDMA registers 3- starting HDMA during vblank.

Maybe someone else has some example code you could borrow?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 9:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jul 01, 2014 3:30 am
Posts: 34
lidnariq wrote:
I have never done this, but as far as I know, setting up HDMA on the SNES comes down to 1- set up the correct array in memory and then 2- correctly initializing the DMA/HDMA registers 3- starting HDMA during vblank.

Maybe someone else has some example code you could borrow?


I don't know, there are some asm sources, but i'll never unserstand asm :D.

Pvsneslib has a gradient sample, and it is just a c function calling some predefined asm code to change brightness.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 70 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], Nicole, Optiroc and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group