nesdev.com
http://forums.nesdev.com/

getting started on SNES
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=13300
Page 4 of 4

Author:  Nicole [ Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:09 am ]
Post subject:  Re: getting started on SNES

zkip wrote:
Actually, I'm pretty sure that this is the exact purpose of having this bit there anyway as I see no other reason for it.

It's necessary for moving sprites partially off the left side of the screen.

Author:  Revenant [ Fri Mar 03, 2017 9:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: getting started on SNES

I believe you can also set the Y coordinate to 240 if you don't want to have to touch the high table, as long as your sprites aren't larger than 16x16 (otherwise they'll wrap around and be partially visible at the top of the screen).

Author:  psycopathicteen [ Fri Mar 03, 2017 10:02 am ]
Post subject:  Re: getting started on SNES

You can't smoothly scroll sprites in from the left side of the screen, with the sprite partially onscreen, without the hioam.

As for dealing with hioam, I always just stored the full x-coordinates and size bits on a separate table, and then afterwards, jump to a routine that builds the hioam all at once.

Author:  psycopathicteen [ Sat Mar 04, 2017 5:04 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: getting started on SNES

zkip wrote:
Quote:
pushing unused sprites offscreen

You can use the 9th bit for the X location (located in the second OAM table) of the sprite to move it off-screen. Actually, I'm pretty sure that this is the exact purpose of having this bit there anyway as I see no other reason for it.

Quote:
Sometimes I just get a bit disillusioned with how SNES homebrew never seems to be able to get out of the ghetto...

I agree. There's some sort of jump-start that NESDEV got that SNES didn't.


One day I am going to make a tutorial on how to make a giant screen filling robot with rotating limbs and body, once I actually make a demo of one. If that doesn't make people want to do SNES homebrew then I don't know what will. The nice thing about rotating sprites is that if you run out of CPU speed and RAM, you can pre-render everything else in ROM.

Author:  dougeff [ Sun Mar 05, 2017 7:50 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: getting started on SNES

Revenant wrote:
I believe you can also set the Y coordinate to 240 if you don't want to have to touch the high table, as long as your sprites aren't larger than 16x16 (otherwise they'll wrap around and be partially visible at the top of the screen).


Thanks. I think this would be the easiest method.

Page 4 of 4 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/