nesdev.com
http://forums.nesdev.com/

Super FX Assembler
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=13581
Page 1 of 1

Author:  badinsults [ Thu Dec 03, 2015 8:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Super FX Assembler

Hi,

I was looking through a source code package for Star Fox 2, and found what I believe to be the Argonaut Super FX assembler. It was in the same folder as the alpha version of Star Fox 2 that has been floating around the Internet since 2000. Anyways, I'd like to get this to work so I can attempt to assemble binaries for the other two source packages I have. When I ran it in DOSBOX, it gave an error stating that it doesn't work under DOS mode. It is entirely possible that development was done on OS/2 rather than Windows, so maybe that is part of the problem. I've attached the assembler here if anyone wants to have a look.

Attachments:
File comment: Super FX assembler
ARGOS2.zip [26.8 KiB]
Downloaded 133 times

Author:  freem [ Thu Dec 03, 2015 8:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

running "file" on the enclosed EXE gives: "ARGOS2.EXE: MS-DOS executable, NE for OS/2 1.x" so it's highly likely.

Author:  tepples [ Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:35 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

I wonder if it'd be easier to implement the assembler as a ca65 macro pack the way blargg did for SPC700, rather than try to get a working copy of OS/2 up and running.

Author:  thefox [ Thu Dec 03, 2015 9:39 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

tepples wrote:
I wonder if it'd be easier to implement the assembler as a ca65 macro pack the way blargg did for SPC700, rather than try to get a working copy of OS/2 up and running.

https://github.com/ARM9/casfx

Author:  wyatt8740 [ Thu Dec 03, 2015 10:47 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

It is an OS/2 program. I just checked with the unix 'file' utility, and it's an OS/2 program in NE format.
Code:
$ file ARGOS2.EXE
ARGOS2.EXE: MS-DOS executable, NE for OS/2 1.x


I installed Windows 2000 in a virtual machine because it has some level of OS/2 compatibility, and the assembler looks to run fine.

Image

Author:  badinsults [ Fri Dec 04, 2015 12:08 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

Ok, that is good to know there is a way for it to work.

I've attached the makefile that was in the code package. Unless I am mistaken, the executable isn't the actual assembler, but some file called "ARGSFXX". It might not be possible to use this to assemble the code. :(


Edit: looks like the guy who originally had the source code was also looking for the assembler. Some info in the comments section here:

http://dailly.blogspot.jp/2008/06/tg16-fun.html

Attachments:
MAKEFILE.zip [1.68 KiB]
Downloaded 102 times

Author:  adam_smasher [ Fri Dec 04, 2015 8:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

wyatt8740 wrote:
I installed Windows 2000 in a virtual machine because it has some level of OS/2 compatibility


Woah, I didn't know this. Cool!

Author:  hyarion [ Mon Dec 07, 2015 5:31 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

wyatt8740 wrote:
I installed Windows 2000 in a virtual machine because it has some level of OS/2 compatibility, and the assembler looks to run fine.
Image

That doesn't look like the output from the assembler, It should print something similar to this:
Code:
ArgSfx-OS/2 v1.35 Copyright (c) Argonaut Software Ltd. 1992
Usage: ARGOS2 [options] sourcefile
 Options are:
Btw, IIRC argos2 is the assembler and argfxx the linker

I tried assembling some example code from some of the sfx patents on a virtual os2warp4 machine but without success, I just got empty output files.
I know the source code for some sfx games are out there somewhere but I haven't been able get hold of any and debugging without it is a PITA.

Author:  badinsults [ Mon Dec 07, 2015 6:42 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

I'll try to set up a virtual machine on my own end and give it a go.

Author:  cdoty [ Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:11 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

wyatt8740 wrote:
I installed Windows 2000 in a virtual machine because it has some level of OS/2 compatibility, and the assembler looks to run fine.


Are you sure it wasn't Windows NT? OS/2 was effectively dead by the time Windows 2000 was released. And, there is a lot of material about how Microsoft created the NT kernel based on the info taken from OS/2.

Here's the quotes from Wikipedia:
"Microsoft decided to recast NT OS/2 3.0 as Windows NT"
"Windows NT's OS/2 heritage can be seen in its initial support for the HPFS filesystem, text mode OS/2 1.x applications..."

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OS/2

The Windows NT wikipedia page says it's available in Windows NT 3.1:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_NT

Author:  Sik [ Tue Feb 16, 2016 12:19 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

If it was in NT it's still possible for it to be there in 2000, even if just because removing it could have broken way more than it should have (Windows is known to have lots of now-useless code just in case removing it ends up backfiring)

Wouldn't it make more sense to just use OS/2 if you're going to use a VM anyway?

Author:  Ryoga [ Tue Mar 22, 2016 3:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

Is there any tutorial to start programming some stuff for the Super FX chip?

Author:  badinsults [ Fri Sep 22, 2017 1:44 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

Luigiblood wrote a linker, so in theory you should be able to write Super FX programs with this. Confirmed to work with legit Star Fox 2 source code.

https://github.com/LuigiBlood/ARGLINK_REWRITE

Author:  LuigiBlood [ Fri Sep 22, 2017 2:06 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

I must say, the Argonaut SNES Linker rewrite may not be accurate, I tried the best I could. At least it produces working ROMs. :D

Author:  nocash [ Sat Sep 23, 2017 5:59 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Super FX Assembler

Searching for "Usage : OS2 /P <full path> /C <original CommandLine>"...

It's mentioned on several webpages. Most people seem to consider it as an "error message", as far as I understand it's complaining about spaces in the path/filename. If that's right then it might work in, for example, "C:\TEST" instead of "C:\Documents and Settings\..\My Documents".

Though it doesn't really look like an "errror message" to me. Sounds more as if it's asking you to use a workaround (possibly needed only if the path contains spaces), ie. maybe it wants you to type this (?)
OS2 /P "C:\Documents and Settings\..\My Documents" /C ARGOS2.EXE

Or, other idea, as you said that ARGSFXX might be the actual assembler, try sth like this:
ARGOS2 /P <whather path> /C ARGSFXX

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/