It is currently Sat Nov 18, 2017 1:41 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


Related:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 70 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2357
I'm having trouble with higher notes not sounding like guitars. Do I not have the right ADSR envelopes or the right kind of vibrato?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 10:49 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Posts: 3106
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
psycopathicteen wrote:
I'm having trouble with higher notes not sounding like guitars.

Why would that be a problem? :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2357
I'm trying to make guitars sounds.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:49 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:25 am
Posts: 228
Using FM synth ? Complicate to replicate, i think that requires very high frequency modulation.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 2:51 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Posts: 3106
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
Yeah, I'm stupid, I misread it as sounding like, not not sounding like. That joke sucked. :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 7:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2357
You can hear how the first part it does a fairly good guitar sound, but when you get to the second part it sounds really weird.


Attachments:
Alisha's theme with guitar.ogg [848.16 KiB]
Downloaded 87 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 8:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Posts: 3106
Location: Nacogdoches, Texas
That's a very bizarre FM guitar. I was expecting something along the lines of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rlmbkKtjfSc


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 25, 2016 9:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2357
That's because I'm not an FM synth expert.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2357
Found what was causing it to sound crappy at high frequencies. The way I calculated note frequencies was too inaccurate.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 1:35 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2357
I've been thinking of ways to do 4 op fm synth on either the CPU or SPC700 (or both at the same time), and then I thought maybe I can make a 2612 VGM player if I can get all 6 channels to work.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 2:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:25 am
Posts: 228
Would be awesome to have a 2612 VGM player on SNES, honestly i though from years now about doing the opposite (SPC player on Sega Genesis ^^).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 5:46 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2357
I think I'll try doing HDMA SPC700 loading. So, I guess I just have to time the spc700 loop to be exactly 65 cycles, but somehow make sure it starts at the beginning of a scanline too. Like checking for a header byte, followed by 32 nops, followed by the loop.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Mar 08, 2017 6:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 03, 2008 1:48 pm
Posts: 543
psycopathicteen: have you considered making an python IT/XM/etc tracker conversion script etc for this that exports to SPC, ASM code or SFC binary?

The n00bz over at http://battleofthebits.org could have some fun with this. :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jul 01, 2013 11:25 am
Posts: 228
psycopathicteen wrote:
I think I'll try doing HDMA SPC700 loading. So, I guess I just have to time the spc700 loop to be exactly 65 cycles, but somehow make sure it starts at the beginning of a scanline too. Like checking for a header byte, followed by 32 nops, followed by the loop.


Won't you waste many previous SPC700 cpu time doing that ? I believe having a fast loading loop once per frame would probably be probably lighter on SPC side at least.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Mar 09, 2017 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed May 19, 2010 6:12 pm
Posts: 2357
I just tried doing it the normal way, and I counted cycles and it appears that it takes just as long for the spc700 either way. I did it 2 bytes at a time, and it added up to 33 spc700 cycles per 16 bits, which would be 66 cycles per 32 bits. I could also try doing 4 bytes at once, but I doubt there will be much improvement.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 70 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group