It is currently Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:33 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


Related:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Swap RGB encoder?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:24 pm
Posts: 12
Change the regulator and nothing, still 8.6-8.5 on the overall 9v lines, and 3.91v on the 5v lines.
I saw the reset button has 1.5 and when pushed 3.91 which I guess is normal behavior

Can't see to find the culprit any advice? I might open a new post too just so the title goes towards fixing these issues :/


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swap RGB encoder?
PostPosted: Mon Jun 12, 2017 7:40 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6182
Location: Seattle
Something's drawing more power than it should. Unfortunately, if nothing is obviously warm, it's going to be hard to figure out where it's going wrong.

Maybe one of the capacitors has gone bad...


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swap RGB encoder?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:00 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:24 pm
Posts: 12
What's incredible weird is that one of the mini worked before I Store it, the other regular snes a Gpm-02 and the other mini didn't work, but all 3 give the same voltage drop?? Could it be the power brick? I mean on my rgb snes it works ok. 9v and 5v..
arrggg where is all your spare parts when you need them.. unfortunately I only have one snes power brick right now at my place, been thinking of just Soldering another 12v or 9v and test it oit


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swap RGB encoder?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:14 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:10 am
Posts: 572
Location: Estonia, Rapla city (50 and 60Hz compatible :P)
That does sound like the reservoir cap in the AC brick being bad (huge 50/60Hz ripple on the output, which ends up causing similar symptoms you're having).

_________________
http://www.tmeeco.eu


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swap RGB encoder?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:24 pm
Posts: 12
Well a bit of success, the consoles are good! yeih!... I wired my old power brick for the super famicom directly to the 7805 voltage regulator, all of them boot.. now wiring it to the solder points of the AC plug to see if it is actually the brick or something before the voltage regulator.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swap RGB encoder?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 12:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:24 pm
Posts: 12
juanmiglesias wrote:
What's incredible weird is that one of the mini worked before I Store it, the other regular snes a Gpm-02 and the other mini didn't work, but all 3 give the same voltage drop?? Could it be the power brick? I mean on my rgb snes it works ok. 9v and 5v..
arrggg where is all your spare parts when you need them.. unfortunately I only have one snes power brick right now at my place, been thinking of just Soldering another 12v or 9v and test it oit


thanks for the info, I just tried the SFC power brick, which is a third party 9V and it worked also from the plug solder points, so going to open the super nintendo power brick and check what's going on or just go out and buy another one.

thanks all for your help!, is there a repair wiki for the snes like arcade otaku? so I can post my findings for future troubleshoot?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Swap RGB encoder?
PostPosted: Tue Jun 13, 2017 1:23 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 11:24 pm
Posts: 12
Update:
- the culprit was the big capacitor on the power brick. When I opened it up it looked brand new.. I was getting ready to discharge it and found the solder joints cracked.. I took the oportunity to desolder it test it.. it was ok.. resolder it and boom everything is working now!

Funny thing is that my rgb snes didn't work on composite, and sound was humming with fade sound...which I though has to do maybe with the current, I didn't notice it before as I was just using rgb video while installing my retro setup (sound was finished yesterday).

Wondering why it did get 9v and 5v from the regulator and showed a perfect rgb image. Maybe motherboard revision had something to do?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group