It is currently Sun Feb 25, 2018 4:52 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules


Related:



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 9:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Apr 25, 2015 1:47 pm
Posts: 356
Location: FL
lidnariq wrote:
I think the bizarre HiROM layout is only a weird thing you need to emulate if you want to call the pins on the CX4 always the same thing regardless of how the mapping pin is strapped.

The same output pins always relay SNESA0-A14 and SNESA16-A19; the only difference is how those outputs are connected to the ROM's high address lines. The out-of-order-ness shown in qwertymodo's pinout (13 14 20 15 16) insinuates to me that the naïve map was intended to be HiROM and they did the simplest useful thing for LoROM compatibility.

Yeah, I didn't really intend to emulate it any differently than "normal" HiROM mapping, aside from the bank/ROM switching capability.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 12:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 6814
Location: Seattle
mightydidz wrote:
Is the issue with the romhack or my build?
Your build

Quote:
First I used a FPZ rom hack that I splitted into 2x16mb
2xam29f016b eeprom and retrostage fx adapter
correct
Quote:
the eeprom /ce lines are connected to a 139 decoder.
Decoder enabler is vss and inputs are A21 (cx4 pin15) ans vss
Last I connected both eeprom A20 directly to the cx4 RA20 (pin34).
Incorrect.

The CX4 in LoROM mode already relays data from the ROMs through the CX4 when /ROMSEL is low and A22 is low. (That's a 2 MiB region: A0 through A14 and A16 through A21 makes 21 address lines)

The remaining 2 MiB need to be directly connected to the data bus when /ROMSEL is low and A22 is high. It's still LoROM map, so you still need to ignore SNESA15.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jan 26, 2018 1:21 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2018 12:04 pm
Posts: 5
Pardon my ignorance but how can I do that?

Changing my decoder input#1 I got different result

First I connected it to cart edge pin 46 (A21) and I got Interface, Register and Rom errors
Then I connected it to cart edge pin 47 (A22) and only got Register and Rom error.
I was able to boot the game a bit further, past the capcom logo. I got like 3 seconds of the intro scene, full music the the graphics frooze
Finally I connected the decoder input #1 to cart edge pin 48 (A23). Didnt get any error at startup but same thing, cant get to the title screen, still freeze during the intro scene.

Here is another build, a cleaner one so you may better understand how I'm testing it
Image

How to I connect the remaining 2mb directly to the databus?
aka: the second eeprom?
I'm using a 139 decoder to control /ce lines of both eeprom, do I need to wire it differently?

Cant wait to get it working.
Thank you guys for the support


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group