It is currently Wed Oct 17, 2018 6:29 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 11:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:29 pm
Posts: 62
Sorry if this topic has been touched before. Couldnt find anything with a quick search.
I'm wondering how is the hdma window color gradient is done? I'm thinking like the effect in the menus of games like ff6, chrono trigger, sd3, etc.
As I understand, color ram cant be touched mid frame.
So how is it done?

Thank you.

_________________
...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20661
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Color RAM and COLDATA can be touched during horizontal blanking.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:29 pm
Posts: 62
Thank you.

_________________
...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:48 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7548
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
olddb wrote:
Sorry if this topic has been touched before. Couldnt find anything with a quick search.
I'm wondering how is the hdma window color gradient is done? I'm thinking like the effect in the menus of games like ff6, chrono trigger, sd3, etc.
As I understand, color ram cant be touched mid frame.
So how is it done?

In those cases it is NOT done with colour RAM, but it is done with transparency effects, using single colour add/substract (add for the top half of the window gradiant and substract for the bottom half) and using gray as the single colour. However that can also be acheived by changing colour RAM : Tales of Phantasia for instance changes backdrop colour to make a similar but different effect.


Last edited by Bregalad on Wed Oct 03, 2018 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:29 pm
Posts: 62
Bregalad wrote:
However that can also be acheived by changing colour RAM : Tales of Phantasia for instance changes backdrop colour to make a similar but different effect.


I guess the down side of this type would be that there's a need for at least 2 hdma channels in order to setup the $2121 and $2122 registers separately.

_________________
...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7650
Location: Seattle
HDMA has the 0,0,1,1 mode which, at the cost of a redundant write to the address register, can set the address and two data bytes.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:54 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:29 pm
Posts: 62
lidnariq wrote:
HDMA has the 0,0,1,1 mode which, at the cost of a redundant write to the address register, can set the address and two data bytes.


I need to ask questions here more often and stop trying to figure things on my own. :P

_________________
...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:23 pm 
Offline
Formerly Espozo
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Posts: 3377
Location: Richmond, Virginia
That's what I did! :lol:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:31 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:52 am
Posts: 29
Location: Ukraine
There are some examples of gradient (RedSpace...) and window with source codes.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: lint and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group