Window color gradient with hdma?

Discussion of hardware and software development for Super NES and Super Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
  • For making cartridges of your Super NES games, see Reproduction.
Post Reply
User avatar
olddb
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:29 pm
Contact:

Window color gradient with hdma?

Post by olddb » Wed Oct 03, 2018 11:57 am

Sorry if this topic has been touched before. Couldnt find anything with a quick search.
I'm wondering how is the hdma window color gradient is done? I'm thinking like the effect in the menus of games like ff6, chrono trigger, sd3, etc.
As I understand, color ram cant be touched mid frame.
So how is it done?

Thank you.
...

tepples
Posts: 21746
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Re: Window color gradient with hdma?

Post by tepples » Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:15 pm

Color RAM and COLDATA can be touched during horizontal blanking.

User avatar
olddb
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Window color gradient with hdma?

Post by olddb » Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:40 pm

Thank you.
...

User avatar
Bregalad
Posts: 7766
Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland

Re: Window color gradient with hdma?

Post by Bregalad » Wed Oct 03, 2018 12:48 pm

olddb wrote:Sorry if this topic has been touched before. Couldnt find anything with a quick search.
I'm wondering how is the hdma window color gradient is done? I'm thinking like the effect in the menus of games like ff6, chrono trigger, sd3, etc.
As I understand, color ram cant be touched mid frame.
So how is it done?
In those cases it is NOT done with colour RAM, but it is done with transparency effects, using single colour add/substract (add for the top half of the window gradiant and substract for the bottom half) and using gray as the single colour. However that can also be acheived by changing colour RAM : Tales of Phantasia for instance changes backdrop colour to make a similar but different effect.
Last edited by Bregalad on Wed Oct 03, 2018 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
olddb
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Window color gradient with hdma?

Post by olddb » Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:16 pm

Bregalad wrote:However that can also be acheived by changing colour RAM : Tales of Phantasia for instance changes backdrop colour to make a similar but different effect.
I guess the down side of this type would be that there's a need for at least 2 hdma channels in order to setup the $2121 and $2122 registers separately.
...

lidnariq
Posts: 8765
Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Location: Seattle

Re: Window color gradient with hdma?

Post by lidnariq » Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:18 pm

HDMA has the 0,0,1,1 mode which, at the cost of a redundant write to the address register, can set the address and two data bytes.

User avatar
olddb
Posts: 79
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 12:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Window color gradient with hdma?

Post by olddb » Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:54 pm

lidnariq wrote:HDMA has the 0,0,1,1 mode which, at the cost of a redundant write to the address register, can set the address and two data bytes.
I need to ask questions here more often and stop trying to figure things on my own. :P
...

User avatar
Drew Sebastino
Formerly Espozo
Posts: 3503
Joined: Mon Sep 15, 2014 4:35 pm
Location: Richmond, Virginia

Re: Window color gradient with hdma?

Post by Drew Sebastino » Wed Oct 03, 2018 3:23 pm

That's what I did! :lol:

srg320
Posts: 32
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:52 am
Location: Ukraine

Re: Window color gradient with hdma?

Post by srg320 » Wed Oct 03, 2018 10:31 pm

There are some examples of gradient (RedSpace...) and window with source codes.

Post Reply