16 bit to 8 bit multiplexers options (other than 74xx257)

Discussion of hardware and software development for Super NES and Super Famicom. See the SNESdev wiki for more information.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
  • For making cartridges of your Super NES games, see Reproduction.
mightydidz

16 bit to 8 bit multiplexers options (other than 74xx257)

Post by mightydidz »

Hello guys, I'm currently looking to update some of my schematic with smaller components.
For a long time I've been using 2x257 mux to convert 16bit eeprom to 8bit eeprom.
Its for snes custom carts.
It is working fine but in some complexe build with lot of IC when 8bit conversion + mix mapping + microcontroller + multiEprom, Its getting tight on the PCB.
I'm looking for a smaller, more effective SMD IC.

I'm no expert in electronics so I tough asking you guys might be easier.

I found two IC that are I'm not 100% would work:
http://www.ti.com/lit/ds/scds307c/scds307c.pdf
https://www.idt.com/products/memory-log ... ultiplexer

Let me know if other options exists
Thanks
getafixx

Re: 16 bit to 8 bit multiplexers options (other than 74xx257

Post by getafixx »

Why not just go the route of using a CPLD? That can easily handle all of those functions, and take up very little space.
lidnariq

Post by lidnariq »

mightydidz wrote:I'm looking for a smaller, more effective SMD IC.
You can get 74HC257 in TSSOP...?

You can get other parts in QFN, or if you're really ambitious, BGA.

You can also use two 74'244s instead.

[ TI TS3L501E ] is a 3V part, cannot be used in the SNES without adding protection and/or uptranslation.
[ IDT QS32390 ] is an analog nMOSFET multiplexer and will function as an uncalibrated nMOSFET voltage clamp. This can be used, but be careful.
infiniteneslives

Post by infiniteneslives »

Sorry for the advocation of the devil here.. But I’m genuinely curious.