It is currently Sun Aug 18, 2019 8:26 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue May 07, 2019 2:00 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:15 am
Posts: 129
Location: Sweden
Optiroc wrote:
I’m finishing up full PCE support tonight, probably.

Done. PCE map output isn't really tested but "should work". :)

I'm still not confident that my Windows builds work as expected, so feel free to PM me if it doesn't work (or do work, for that matter!).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu May 09, 2019 8:55 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:44 pm
Posts: 1001
Location: Japan
Thanks for the newest version. It seems to generate valid maps, palettes, etc for 24-bit and indexed PNGS. 1024x512-pixel-large images also seem to remap just fine.

I'll actually test the tool and images out on my PCE tonight or in a couple of days.

_________________
http://www.chrismcovell.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 1:51 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:15 am
Posts: 129
Location: Sweden
ccovell wrote:
Thanks for the newest version. It seems to generate valid maps, palettes, etc for 24-bit and indexed PNGS. 1024x512-pixel-large images also seem to remap just fine.

I'll actually test the tool and images out on my PCE tonight or in a couple of days.

Awesome. There should be no particular size limit on the images used. For instance, a possible use case is to generate level maps out of severely large PNGs (which is probably not something you want to do in a “real life” scenario, but still).

Report any issues or questions you have, and I’ll try my best to address them!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 2:58 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 19, 2006 9:44 pm
Posts: 1001
Location: Japan
Hi, sorry, but I have one important suggestion for any tile format (PCE, SFC...) and that is the ability to specify the starting VRAM address of the first graphics tile. Tiles can't all start at VRAM $0000, as often the MAP/BAT is located there. Thus the tile numbers in the MAP will be incorrect.

_________________
http://www.chrismcovell.com


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 5:14 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 21558
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Optiroc wrote:
There should be no particular size limit on the images used. For instance, a possible use case is to generate level maps out of severely large PNGs (which is probably not something you want to do in a “real life” scenario, but still).

Several NES games I've worked on for Retrotainment Games do exactly that, and then the tiles and map get postprocessed for compression. It beats making a custom map editor, porting it to Windows, and training artists two states away on its use.

_________________
Pin Eight | Twitter | GitHub | Patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 5:26 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:15 am
Posts: 129
Location: Sweden
ccovell wrote:
Hi, sorry, but I have one important suggestion for any tile format (PCE, SFC...) and that is the ability to specify the starting VRAM address of the first graphics tile. Tiles can't all start at VRAM $0000, as often the MAP/BAT is located there. Thus the tile numbers in the MAP will be incorrect.

Ah, too true. I’ll add a tile-index offset option for map generation.

This might be of some use on SNES too, albeit not as often since tile base offset is configurable per BG (which is why there’s no such option here in the first place).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 7:37 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 2548
Location: DIGDUG
Quote:
tile base offset is configurable per BG


Yeah, I can't imagine needing an index offset for SNES.

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 9:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:15 am
Posts: 129
Location: Sweden
tepples wrote:
Several NES games I've worked on for Retrotainment Games do exactly that, and then the tiles and map get postprocessed for compression. It beats making a custom map editor, porting it to Windows, and training artists two states away on its use.

Yep, it’s not completely unreasonable either, which is why I added options like custom splitting and column-major order for map output. :wink:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 11:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2013 1:15 am
Posts: 129
Location: Sweden
ccovell wrote:
Hi, sorry, but I have one important suggestion for any tile format (PCE, SFC...) and that is the ability to specify the starting VRAM address of the first graphics tile. Tiles can't all start at VRAM $0000, as often the MAP/BAT is located there. Thus the tile numbers in the MAP will be incorrect.

As of this release there is a "--tile-base-offset" parameter to the main/map commands. It's simply an integer that will be added to all tile indices during map export, which I hope solves your issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri May 10, 2019 11:37 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 21558
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
--tile-base-offset 128 could help with Game Boy as well, as the most common background display mode uses tiles 128-255 then 0-127.

_________________
Pin Eight | Twitter | GitHub | Patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 40 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: nocash and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group