What is your process for creating graphics for the SNES?

Discussion of hardware and software development for Super NES and Super Famicom. See the SNESdev wiki for more information.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
  • For making cartridges of your Super NES games, see Reproduction.
Esns68

What is your process for creating graphics for the SNES?

Post by Esns68 »

I'm still new to SNES assembly, but I'm currently using Grafx2 to create graphics for my projects.

I was messing around with a load sprite source code I found online, tested it with my own sprite (after using the converter in the famous SNES-Starter kit) and in result, the background of the image was not transparent and the overall colors were flickering a little, and the background was rapidly changing colors.

After doing a little more research I learned that the color and transparency issues can happen because the color palette numbers in the file are out of order, which happens as your switching colors and drawing in the graphics editor. Don't know if any of this is true or if I'm misunderstanding so correct if incorrect.

For now on I want to make sure I do it all successfully, so I just wondered what your whole process is for creating sprites/graphics for the SNES, what all do you do, what programs do you use, and what do you do to make sure it works on the SNES, with the color palette file in mind?

Also, is there any program that lets you fix the color numbers in sprite image files or anything?
Thank you for you time.
Oziphantom

Re: What is your process for creating graphics for the SNES?

Post by Oziphantom »

Programs :
Deluxe Paint V, Brilliance, Pro Motion NG.

Draw all your graphic with palettes and thus make sure you keep you palette in order for all of them. Don't ever let them get converted into 24bit images.

I use this for conversion https://github.com/Optiroc/SuperFamiconv
calima

Post by calima »

Draw in gimp/mtpaint. Save as PNG with the palette already ordered how it should be.