SNES hardware troubles

Discussion of hardware and software development for Super NES and Super Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
  • For making cartridges of your Super NES games, see Reproduction.
Post Reply
atari2600a
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:25 pm
Location: Earth, Milkyway Galaxy, The Universe, M-Theory
Contact:

SNES hardware troubles

Post by atari2600a » Sat Mar 22, 2008 3:18 am

I, feeling a sudden need for a SNES again, went down to a local game shop & bought a busted SNES for $10.

W/O even checking it out, I pull it open & jump the fuse. It's a 1st revision w/ the SPU daughter board. I plug it in, only one game out of 3 plays (Logic Bomb, other 2 where Super Metroid & Starfox). My first instinct was to reseat & flip the connector, didn't do anything.

Anyone know what's wrong? I'm scared...

Code: Select all

          *=$0000
loop      JMP loop
          .eof

atari2600a
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:25 pm
Location: Earth, Milkyway Galaxy, The Universe, M-Theory
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Sun Mar 23, 2008 1:31 am

Bump. My scaredness level has reached a level of scariness that no one has ever been scared of before...

Code: Select all

          *=$0000
loop      JMP loop
          .eof

User avatar
blargg
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Location: Central Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by blargg » Sun Mar 23, 2008 2:16 am

Try more games, especially early simpler ones like Super Mario World. Not enogh data so far.

atari2600a
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:25 pm
Location: Earth, Milkyway Galaxy, The Universe, M-Theory
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Sun Mar 23, 2008 3:25 am

Sadly these are the only games at my disposal. What the hell happened to my collection of 20-30ish SNES carts from my childhood...

Code: Select all

          *=$0000
loop      JMP loop
          .eof

User avatar
kyuusaku
Posts: 1665
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 2:13 pm

Post by kyuusaku » Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:32 pm

Reseat the internal connector, put cleaning solution on a cart's "golden fingers", insert, eject, insert eject, insert and it should play.

atari2600a
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:25 pm
Location: Earth, Milkyway Galaxy, The Universe, M-Theory
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:36 pm

Lol, that's like the FIRST thing I did! :P

EDIT: I just had a thought, maybe this has to do w/ the amount of amps going into the mobo! I've never had an official SNES AC Adapter for like 6 years, so I've been using any 7+V AC adapter I could find & cut the tip off of it. The one I'm currently using works just fine w/ a rev 2/3 system, but since this one has the SPU daughterboard maybe Super Metroid & Starfox are taking a few hundred milliamp too much...I'll find a higher AC adapter to use tomorrow & see if I'm correct...

Code: Select all

          *=$0000
loop      JMP loop
          .eof

User avatar
blargg
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Location: Central Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by blargg » Sun Mar 23, 2008 5:36 pm

Holy shit, you're feeding your SNES AC? I think they do have a reverse-polarity diode, but that's not a good rectifier. Also, the NES power adaptor is 10V DC. 7V AC will rectify to significantly less, especially with a half-wave one made of a single diode.

atari2600a
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:25 pm
Location: Earth, Milkyway Galaxy, The Universe, M-Theory
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Mon Mar 24, 2008 8:18 am

I said AC? Meant feeding it DC, lol.

Code: Select all

          *=$0000
loop      JMP loop
          .eof

User avatar
MottZilla
Posts: 2832
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm

Post by MottZilla » Wed Apr 23, 2008 2:10 pm

Wouldn't it be an AC adapter since you are adapting AC? Was the NES 10VAC? I thought it was 9VAC. The SNES I know is 10VDC.

Lord Nightmare
Posts: 129
Joined: Wed Apr 05, 2006 10:12 am
Location: PA, USA
Contact:

Post by Lord Nightmare » Sun Jul 20, 2008 8:17 pm

Run the snes tester rom (from the "burn in/test cartridge") on the snes (borrow a copier from someone). That should tell you fairly accurately whats wrong with it. I have one here which has a duff s-cpu, the divide registers don't work properly and hence just about nothing runs except the copier menu, the tester rom, and mario paint.

LN
"When life gives you zombies... *CHA-CHIK!* ...you make zombie-ade!"

atari2600a
Posts: 324
Joined: Fri Jun 29, 2007 10:25 pm
Location: Earth, Milkyway Galaxy, The Universe, M-Theory
Contact:

Post by atari2600a » Sun Jul 20, 2008 9:50 pm

lol, this thread! I still don't have a SNES controller to use on this unit (I bet one'll show up somewhere in my attic or something), once I do I'll test my original theory that the mobo isn't getting enough juice, THEN I'll investigate further if necessary. :P

Code: Select all

          *=$0000
loop      JMP loop
          .eof

Near
Founder of higan project
Posts: 1550
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:23 pm

Post by Near » Sun Jul 20, 2008 10:22 pm

I have one here which has a duff s-cpu, the divide registers don't work properly and hence just about nothing runs except the copier menu, the tester rom, and mario paint.
I've got a 1/1/1 here that flips the tiles around on all sprites larger than 8x8. So yeah, you can play any game that doesn't use sprites.

I disabled the CIC and plan to use it with my dead-SRAM copier (it isn't the socket IC SRAM chip, I've tried replacing that) for stop-n-swop tasks.

tepples
Posts: 22017
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Post by tepples » Mon Jul 21, 2008 6:38 am

byuu wrote:I've got a 1/1/1 here that flips the tiles around on all sprites larger than 8x8. So yeah, you can play any game that doesn't use sprites.
Or SMB1 in All-Stars. Doesn't that one use 8x8s almost exclusively?

Post Reply