SPC RAM dump to PC from a SNES

Discussion of hardware and software development for Super NES and Super Famicom.

Moderator: Moderators

Forum rules
  • For making cartridges of your Super NES games, see Reproduction.
Post Reply
NotTheCommonDose
Posts: 523
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: lolz!
Contact:

SPC RAM dump to PC from a SNES

Post by NotTheCommonDose » Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:51 pm

Is there any way I could possibly hook my SNES up to a PC and dump the SPC700 chip RAM while I'm actually playing my SNES?

User avatar
blargg
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Location: Central Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by blargg » Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:32 pm

Not really. Perhaps the best you could do is reset the SNES, then run a custom program that dumps the SPC-700 RAM. The main problem is that you don't know the CPU register state prior to reset. This approach would have the same problem on any system, really.

User avatar
clueless
Posts: 498
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:27 am
Location: Seatlle, WA, USA

Post by clueless » Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:47 pm

This might be overkill, but maybe this is possible:

1) Remove the SPC700 from the SNES.

2) Designed an FPGA circuit that will sit between the SPC700 chip and SNES.

3) Rig is all up with appropriate connections.

4) Use the FPGA to spy on the activity between the SPC700 and SNES.

5) Add a function to the FPGA that can simulate the requires bus signals to drive the SPC700 directly and then trigger this using a pin on the FPGA. Use this to (temporarily?) hijack the SPC700 and do with it as you please.

6) Dump that data over some bus that the FPGA connects to.



Code: Select all

   SNES  <-------  FPGA  ------------->  SPC700
                   |
                   |
                   +----------> PC 

User avatar
blargg
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Location: Central Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by blargg » Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:52 pm

Or just run it all in an emulator, where you can spy to your heart's content.

NotTheCommonDose
Posts: 523
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: lolz!
Contact:

Post by NotTheCommonDose » Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:08 pm

FPGA? I know alot of stuff about computers and electronics but I don't know Assembly. What is FPGA?

byuu
Posts: 1545
Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:23 pm
Contact:

Post by byuu » Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:14 pm

Unfortunately, it's one of those things that if you have to ask, you're probably way out of your league.

http://www.google.com/search?q=FPGA

NotTheCommonDose
Posts: 523
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: lolz!
Contact:

Post by NotTheCommonDose » Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:22 pm

I'll ask my teacher if he has one. Monday.

NotTheCommonDose
Posts: 523
Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 pm
Location: lolz!
Contact:

Post by NotTheCommonDose » Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:29 pm

He has no idea what it is. I'll continue this another day.

User avatar
Dwedit
Posts: 4301
Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Contact:

Post by Dwedit » Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:03 pm

It's a Field Programmable Gate Array. You use it with the Verilog language to make hardware.
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!

User avatar
blargg
Posts: 3715
Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Location: Central Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by blargg » Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:45 pm

Dwedit, why bother if even a Google search is too much to ask?

Post Reply