It is currently Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:19 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours



Forum rules





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 1:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 524
Location: lolz!
Is there any way I could possibly hook my SNES up to a PC and dump the SPC700 chip RAM while I'm actually playing my SNES?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
Not really. Perhaps the best you could do is reset the SNES, then run a custom program that dumps the SPC-700 RAM. The main problem is that you don't know the CPU register state prior to reset. This approach would have the same problem on any system, really.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 4:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 7:27 am
Posts: 498
Location: Seatlle, WA, USA
This might be overkill, but maybe this is possible:

1) Remove the SPC700 from the SNES.

2) Designed an FPGA circuit that will sit between the SPC700 chip and SNES.

3) Rig is all up with appropriate connections.

4) Use the FPGA to spy on the activity between the SPC700 and SNES.

5) Add a function to the FPGA that can simulate the requires bus signals to drive the SPC700 directly and then trigger this using a pin on the FPGA. Use this to (temporarily?) hijack the SPC700 and do with it as you please.

6) Dump that data over some bus that the FPGA connects to.




Code:
   SNES  <-------  FPGA  ------------->  SPC700
                   |
                   |
                   +----------> PC


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Oct 15, 2008 5:52 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
Or just run it all in an emulator, where you can spy to your heart's content.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 12:08 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 524
Location: lolz!
FPGA? I know alot of stuff about computers and electronics but I don't know Assembly. What is FPGA?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 2:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Mar 27, 2006 5:23 pm
Posts: 1524
Unfortunately, it's one of those things that if you have to ask, you're probably way out of your league.

http://www.google.com/search?q=FPGA


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Oct 16, 2008 4:22 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 524
Location: lolz!
I'll ask my teacher if he has one. Monday.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Thu Jun 29, 2006 7:44 pm
Posts: 524
Location: lolz!
He has no idea what it is. I'll continue this another day.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 4211
It's a Field Programmable Gate Array. You use it with the Verilog language to make hardware.

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Oct 20, 2008 10:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
Dwedit, why bother if even a Google search is too much to ask?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group