It is currently Sun Aug 25, 2019 7:37 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jul 26, 2019 11:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 10:16 am
Posts: 965
Today when posting, there's a minute long wait, then a 500 internal server error, but the post has gone through.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 12:56 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:09 pm
Posts: 975
I get something like that, too.
Yesterday it was a long delay and nothing happened (or I didn't wait long enough).
Today it was a 1-2 minute delay, and the browser then said something about gateway timeout.
The posts were written to the forum thread though, only the message-sent-successfully confirmation screen didn't show up.
EDIT: However, this message was sent without problems. And, the preview feature works without problems.

_________________
homepage - patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 1:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8539
Location: Seattle
I've found that PMs have been troubled, but for me public posts have been fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 5:24 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 4208
Location: A world gone mad
I think this might just be a "something is broken but what breaks/when is chance" situation. I too just got one of these when attempting to respond to a PM, but there's nothing different in phpBB resource-wise for PMs vs. public posts, so I don't know why one would be more broken than the other. (But so far for me, PMs definitely trigger it.)

Edit: the timeout took exactly 100 seconds. The server is returning HTTP 504 Gateway Timeout, but shows a custom HTTP 5xx status page. Here's some details I was able to pull from Chrome when reproducing the problem when sending a PM, with private/critical stuff XXX'd out. The 38.141.52.251 IP address shown in the header is of forums.nesdev.com itself.

Code:
General:
Request URL: http://forums.nesdev.com/ucp.php?i=pm&mode=compose&action=reply&sid=XXXXXXX&p=55401
Request Method: POST
Status Code: 504 Gateway Time-out
Remote Address: 38.141.52.251:80
Referrer Policy: no-referrer-when-downgrade

Response Headers:
Connection: keep-alive
Content-Length: 1252
Content-Type: text/html
Date: Sun, 28 Jul 2019 00:26:28 GMT
ETag: "57d6ebd5-4e4"
Keep-Alive: timeout=60
Server: nginx

Request Headers:
Accept: text/html,application/xhtml+xml,application/xml;q=0.9,image/webp,image/apng,*/*;q=0.8,application/signed-exchange;v=b3
Accept-Encoding: gzip, deflate
Accept-Language: en-US,en-GB;q=0.9,en;q=0.8
Cache-Control: max-age=0
Connection: keep-alive
Content-Length: 4861
Content-Type: multipart/form-data; boundary=----WebKitFormBoundaryXXX
Cookie: XXX
Host: forums.nesdev.com
Origin: http://forums.nesdev.com
Referer: http://forums.nesdev.com/ucp.php?i=pm&mode=compose&action=reply&sid=XXX&p=55401
Upgrade-Insecure-Requests: 1
User-Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; Win64; x64) AppleWebKit/537.36 (KHTML, like Gecko) Chrome/75.0.3770.142 Safari/537.36
i: pm
mode: compose
action: reply
sid: XXX
p: 55401

You'll know when it's happening because your browser will sit there saying "Waiting for ..." for several seconds. If you see that happen, IMMEDIATELY copy the text you just wrote and paste it somewhere for safe keeping, otherwise when the error page kicks in you might not be able to click Back and get it (depends on situation/site/etc.).

Someone needs to track down WhoaMan to find out what's going on. I suspect strongly something on the back end, maybe MySQL, maybe PHP/nginx acting weird? Could be something like resource starvation due to another hosted site chewing things up (seen this before). The HTTP 504 response seems to imply there's reverse proxying going on, and that the back-end HTTP server (probably the one that runs PHP) is not responding within 100 seconds.

Also: the HTTP 500 response page is one I've never seen before, so I can't identify what software is returning it -- it is not phpBB/PHP natively, and it is not stock nginx or stock Apache's HTTP 5xx status page. Oh, and there's a typo in the <title> ("Sever" not "Server"), so maybe this is a custom HTTP 5xx page...

Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en"><head>
    <title>500 &mdash; Internal Sever Error</title>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8"/>
    <meta name="description" content="Sorry, something went wrong. Internal Server Error"/>
    <style type="text/css">
        body {font-size:14px; color:#777777; font-family:arial; text-align:center;}
        h1 {font-size:180px; color:#99A7AF; margin: 70px 0 0 0;}
        h2 {color: #DE6C5D; font-family: arial; font-size: 20px; font-weight: bold; letter-spacing: -1px; margin: -3px 0 39px;}
        p {width:320px; text-align:center; margin-left:auto;margin-right:auto; margin-top: 30px }
        div {width:320px; text-align:center; margin-left:auto;margin-right:auto;}
        a:link {color: #34536A;}
        a:visited {color: #34536A;}
        a:active {color: #34536A;}
        a:hover {color: #34536A;}
    </style>
</head>

<body>
    <p><a href="http://forums.nesdev.com/">forums.nesdev.com</a></p>

    <h1>500</h1>
    <h2>Internal Server Error</h2>
    <div>
        Sorry, something went wrong :(
    </div>
</body>

</html>


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Jul 27, 2019 11:19 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:09 pm
Posts: 975
"Internal sever error" appears to be a very common error message, there are lots of search hits for that string.
Are those error pages (especially timeouts) generated by the server? Or by network exchange points?
I thought they were just generated by the browser.

_________________
homepage - patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 1:42 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 4208
Location: A world gone mad
Those response codes are generated by HTTP servers, not network devices** or clients/browsers.

In the case of nesdev I believe there are (at least) two HTTP servers involved -- we'll call them A and B. A sits in front of B, possibly injecting ads into things, "siphoning" the data from B back out to Internet-facing clients. B is the HTTP server which runs the phpBB PHP code. This model is called reverse proxying, which is pretty much commonplace/industry-norm at this point. This model is used for other things, such as load balancing a pool of back-end servers (e.g. A runs nginx and/or haproxy, with the back-end servers being B (lets pretend 8 boxes) running nginx+phpfpm). HTTP 504 would thus be returned by A when, for some reason, its unable to reach/contact B, or maybe where B takes too long to respond with full headers/payload. Which situation is happening is impossible for anyone here to determine, only WhoaMan would know.

But this thread is not for "lets learn how HTTP works". :-) This thread is for "the site is acting wonky".

** - There is an exception to this, but it's irrelevant WRT this site.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 28, 2019 1:00 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7739
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Normally everything was fine but for my last post I got a problem after posting it where the web page froze, but nevertheless the post was correctly submitted, so when I tried to re-post it warned me that another post had been made, and it was mine. So it's not big issue - just reloading the thread will work, but still that's annoying.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 9:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Posts: 11403
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil
This has just happened to me too.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 2:24 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2012 12:09 pm
Posts: 975
Here's the error page as how it occurs to me. There is no "Sever" in the title, and the link to "help.opera.com" looks a lot like being generated by my browser.
Where is our admin? We need to get helped : )
Code:
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01//EN">
<html dir="ltr">
<head>
 <title>Error</title>
 <link rel="stylesheet" href="file://localhost/C:/PROGRAMS/OPERA/styles/error.css" media="screen,projection,tv,handheld,print,speech">
</head>
<body>
<h1>HTTP gateway timed out</h1>
<p>You tried to access the address <cite><a href="http://forums.nesdev.com/posting.php?mode=reply&amp;f=23&amp;t=18490">http://forums.nesdev.com/posting.php?mode=reply&amp;f=23&amp;t=18490</a></cite>, which is currently unavailable. Please make sure that the Web address (URL) is correctly spelled and punctuated, then try reloading the page.</p>
<ul>
 <li>Make sure your Internet connection is active and check whether other applications that rely on the same connection are working.</li>
 <li>Check that the setup of any Internet security software is correct and does not interfere with ordinary Web browsing.</li>
 <li>If you are behind a firewall on a Local Area Network and think this may be causing problems, talk to your systems administrator.</li>
 <li>Try pressing the F12 key on your keyboard and disabling proxy servers, unless you know that you are required to use a proxy to connect to the Internet. Reload the page.</li>
</ul>
<h2>Need help?</h2>
<ul>
 <li>Open the <a href="http://help.opera.com/">Opera Help</a>.</li>
 <li>Go to <a href="http://www.opera.com/support/">Opera's online support desk</a>.</li>
</ul>
</body></html>

_________________
homepage - patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jul 29, 2019 3:03 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 4208
Location: A world gone mad
Your web browser (Opera) is choosing to override/inject its own HTTP 5xx result page, possibly specific to HTTP 504. You should ask the Opera people why they do that. It's probably something along the same lines as why IE does/did it for all sorts of statuses.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 11:40 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 958
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
Same thing here with me.
But the post was there when I tried again, just like what happened with Bregalad.
Weird! :shock:

The screen:
Attachment:
File comment: Server error
Screenshot.png
Screenshot.png [ 14.3 KiB | Viewed 4451 times ]

The code:
Code:
<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Strict//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-strict.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" xml:lang="en" lang="en"><head>
    <title>500 &mdash; Internal Sever Error</title>
    <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8"/>
    <meta name="description" content="Sorry, something went wrong. Internal Server Error"/>
    <style type="text/css">
        body {font-size:14px; color:#777777; font-family:arial; text-align:center;}
        h1 {font-size:180px; color:#99A7AF; margin: 70px 0 0 0;}
        h2 {color: #DE6C5D; font-family: arial; font-size: 20px; font-weight: bold; letter-spacing: -1px; margin: -3px 0 39px;}
        p {width:320px; text-align:center; margin-left:auto;margin-right:auto; margin-top: 30px }
        div {width:320px; text-align:center; margin-left:auto;margin-right:auto;}
        a:link {color: #34536A;}
        a:visited {color: #34536A;}
        a:active {color: #34536A;}
        a:hover {color: #34536A;}
    </style>
</head>

<body>
    <p><a href="http://forums.nesdev.com/">forums.nesdev.com</a></p>

    <h1>500</h1>
    <h2>Internal Server Error</h2>
    <div>
        Sorry, something went wrong :(
    </div>
</body>
</html>


Edit: Strangely this did not happened when I posted here...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 11:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 2550
Location: DIGDUG
Test.

It posted fine. From Chrome, from my phone.

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 1:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 958
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
dougeff wrote:
It posted fine. From Chrome, from my phone.

Maybe it's happening in specific forum places or in new(er) threads?
My last post that had given me this problem was in General Stuff, and I had no problem when creating a new thread there.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 31, 2019 2:40 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 4208
Location: A world gone mad
This information is not particularly helpful, folks. It's been hashed over already. Only one person can do something about it -- WhoaMan -- and I don't know if the moderators here have tried to contact him or not (I've asked for this to be done on Discord as well).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 09, 2019 12:47 am 
Offline

Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 3:09 am
Posts: 462
Just happened to me too.

Not that I would have noticed without the big gray "500" on the screen, since the post went through fine and it's otherwise business as usual for my piece-of-crap connection.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 21 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group