It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 5:14 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 4:52 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Jul 29, 2005 3:40 pm
Posts: 345
Location: near chicago
would anyone know if its possible to make the forum message window larger ? my lcd is 1920 x 1200 and having to write a post in this tiny window seems silly while the remaining screen is unused.

maybe that wouldnt work for everyone; like if the window was not maximised or if i was on my laptop which is a tiny 1024 x 768.

i suppose if it could be done it would use that java stuff. ( i have no intension of enabling that, its only used for adds and pop up windows)

matt


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Apr 01, 2009 11:10 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 27, 2004 8:33 am
Posts: 3715
Location: Central Texas, USA
Heh, and here I thought the purpose of a larger screen was to be able to have more open windows and tasks on screen at once. I usually write posts in a text editor, where I can save periodically rather than losing everything due to a browser refresh. As a bonus I get 6502/C syntax highlighting.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 2:20 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 9:28 pm
Posts: 3192
Location: Mountain View, CA, USA
The text input window size is defined by the web board's PHP code, which outputs the following HTML for the input:

Code:
<textarea name="message" rows="15" cols="35" wrap="virtual" style="width:450px" tabindex="3" class="post" onselect="storeCaret(this);" onclick="storeCaret(this);" onkeyup="storeCaret(this);"></textarea>


Note the style="width:450px" CSS there. The text input window is therefore 450px wide. It doesn't shrink or grow based on window resize either.

I do find it interesting that there's both a cols textarea attribute, and a CSS width attribute. I think the CSS attribute overrides, but I'm not sure. I'm damn certain the message input window is not limited to 35 characters. :-)

This could be changed, of course.

And no, it would not "require Java stuff". I don't know what gives you that impression. I find it a little weird that someone on a highly technical forum would talk about the size of HTML textarea sections as requiring Java. :-)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Apr 02, 2009 7:41 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 19353
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
A lot of people still confuse JavaScript (ECMAScript manipulating the HTML and CSS DOM) with "Java stuff" (a virtual machine maintained by Sun). And a "highly technical forum" can still have people who are experts in 6502 asm but novices in web development.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group