It is currently Thu Oct 18, 2018 6:42 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:13 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:01 am
Posts: 6
Castlevania III mmc5 to mmc3 work
because of chr bank selecting ,
I have to use a large (256k+256k+mmc3)
it is not finished.


Last edited by Airwe on Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:48 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:17 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 4093
I'm pretty sure this site doesn't allow hosting copyrighted ROM files. Maybe post an XDelta or BPS patch instead.

I can see a lot of bugs regarding which mirroring mode is used. Since MMC5 lets you pick mirroring modes easily, and so does the MMC3, this seems like it won't be that much of a problem.


Attachments:
patches.zip [2.59 KiB]
Downloaded 437 times

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Last edited by Dwedit on Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:26 am, edited 2 times in total.
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:24 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 3132
Location: Tampere, Finland
Dwedit wrote:
I'm pretty sure this site doesn't allow hosting copyrighted ROM files. Maybe post an XDelta or BPS patch instead.

Do we even have policies regarding that since moving away from the Parodius Network?

(BTW: The NESDev front page still references the old Parodius policies.)

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: fo.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:43 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20666
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Don't do anything that could cause Nintendo or a major seller of VC games to get this whole site taken down.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:56 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7548
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Apparently you can't even get in gameplay with this hack.

I think it should be hard to go with MMC5 -> MMC3, especially because of PRG bankswitching which is 8k, 8k, 16k on MMC3, but 16k, 8k, 8k on VRC6 and the MMC5 mode that is used by CV3.

If this would have been possible, Konami would have done it really. It would have saved them much costs.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:15 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20666
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Two things might help:
  • Does CV3 normally put anything in $6000-$7FFF? If not, something that'd normally be in one of the switchable banks could be relocated to PRG RAM there.
  • Does CV3 use the DMC? If so, the music can be rewritten not to use it, freeing up $C000-$DFFF.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:41 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:01 am
Posts: 6
Dwedit wrote:
I'm pretty sure this site doesn't allow hosting copyrighted ROM files. Maybe post an XDelta or BPS patch instead.

I can see a lot of bugs regarding which mirroring mode is used. Since MMC5 lets you pick mirroring modes easily, and so does the MMC3, this seems like it won't be that much of a problem.



Thanks .


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:01 am
Posts: 6
tepples wrote:
Two things might help:
  • Does CV3 normally put anything in $6000-$7FFF? If not, something that'd normally be in one of the switchable banks could be relocated to PRG RAM there.
  • Does CV3 use the DMC? If so, the music can be rewritten not to use it, freeing up $C000-$DFFF.


CV3 didn't use $6000-$7FFF,and $C000-$DFFF selected when Dracula is lauging.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:01 am
Posts: 6
tepples wrote:
Don't do anything that could cause Nintendo or a major seller of VC games to get this whole site taken down.


Sorry...


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:49 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 12:06 am
Posts: 5
So, is this possible?, do we have a CV3 in MMC3 mapper, that would become really nice for a multicart..


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Oct 25, 2017 5:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Mar 11, 2011 2:22 pm
Posts: 26
aarkay_14 wrote:
So, is this possible?, do we have a CV3 in MMC3 mapper, that would become really nice for a multicart..


Yeah i was alway's imagining Castlevania 3 to be ported from mmc5 to the mmc3 chip as i could not see why it would perse need an mmc5 chip to run it, because me idea was that that game does not take any advantage of it over the mmc3 chip.
But if it is true that the mmc 3 chip only supports bankswitching of 4KB &8KB and what if it only supports of max amount of data to handle,and what if the mmc5 chip supports a higher amount of stored data and also can handle bankswitching of 16KB of data in wich castlevania 3 does take advantage of ir?? Well then we not only have to to reverse engineer that game but we also have to sacriffie alot of world,levels or redesign them to fit within the 8KB limit.

The main reason why we want to see this game running on a mmc3 chip is because to make it compatible with the powerpak ,famiclones and emulators whose don't support/handle the mmc5 chip:


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:50 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:47 pm
Posts: 3
Just registered to post in this topic.

Is there any update on this? I've tried it on emulator, mostly works except for the intro and some minor glitches. I've never played past the first lvl so I don't know if there any other glitches, but I would really love to gave a famiclone compatible version on a cart.

Any news?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Aug 26, 2018 2:59 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:01 am
Posts: 6
pfox wrote:
Just registered to post in this topic.

Is there any update on this? I've tried it on emulator, mostly works except for the intro and some minor glitches. I've never played past the first lvl so I don't know if there any other glitches, but I would really love to gave a famiclone compatible version on a cart.

Any news?




I'm sorry to be late,after that,i did more.now it is completely playable.vertical stage is complete success,no buggy tile in state bar.
But some error.the opening screen is wrong,flood IRQ also lag,and it small probability cpu jam.for use dpcm IRQ,some stage no attack se and bgm lost dpcm drum.saya and alucard in speak screen was buggy,last battle is random laser.i will continue to do.
My English is very poor, please forgive me:P
I also had made a CV1 hack that use MMC3+128PRG+128CHR.now I made a Castle 3-in-1 mitulcart by mapper 52,so funny.


Attachments:
Castle 3-in-1_024.png
Castle 3-in-1_024.png [ 8.35 KiB | Viewed 5489 times ]
Castle 3-in-1_022.png
Castle 3-in-1_022.png [ 6.9 KiB | Viewed 5489 times ]
Castle 3-in-1_021.png
Castle 3-in-1_021.png [ 8.77 KiB | Viewed 5489 times ]
Castle 3-in-1_020.png
Castle 3-in-1_020.png [ 9 KiB | Viewed 5489 times ]
Castle 3-in-1_014.png
Castle 3-in-1_014.png [ 1.49 KiB | Viewed 5489 times ]
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 3:34 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jul 04, 2015 9:58 am
Posts: 817
Location: -29.794229 -55.795374
That's great!
Any patch available?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Aug 31, 2018 6:29 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2018 11:47 pm
Posts: 3
There were some glitches with stairs too, character would simply fall down and die when passing near the the stairs. If you could provide the patch I'd continue further testing.

Keep up the great work!


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group