nesdev.com
http://forums.nesdev.com/

Castlevania III MMC3 hack
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=18&t=9552
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Airwe [ Sat Dec 01, 2012 6:13 am ]
Post subject:  Castlevania III MMC3 hack

Castlevania III mmc5 to mmc3 work
because of chr bank selecting ,
I have to use a large (256k+256k+mmc3)
it is not finished.

Author:  Dwedit [ Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:17 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Castlevania III MMC3 hack

I'm pretty sure this site doesn't allow hosting copyrighted ROM files. Maybe post an XDelta or BPS patch instead.

I can see a lot of bugs regarding which mirroring mode is used. Since MMC5 lets you pick mirroring modes easily, and so does the MMC3, this seems like it won't be that much of a problem.

Attachments:
patches.zip [2.59 KiB]
Downloaded 294 times

Author:  thefox [ Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:24 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Castlevania III MMC3 hack

Dwedit wrote:
I'm pretty sure this site doesn't allow hosting copyrighted ROM files. Maybe post an XDelta or BPS patch instead.

Do we even have policies regarding that since moving away from the Parodius Network?

(BTW: The NESDev front page still references the old Parodius policies.)

Author:  tepples [ Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:43 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Castlevania III MMC3 hack

Don't do anything that could cause Nintendo or a major seller of VC games to get this whole site taken down.

Author:  Bregalad [ Sat Dec 01, 2012 10:56 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Castlevania III MMC3 hack

Apparently you can't even get in gameplay with this hack.

I think it should be hard to go with MMC5 -> MMC3, especially because of PRG bankswitching which is 8k, 8k, 16k on MMC3, but 16k, 8k, 8k on VRC6 and the MMC5 mode that is used by CV3.

If this would have been possible, Konami would have done it really. It would have saved them much costs.

Author:  tepples [ Sat Dec 01, 2012 12:15 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Castlevania III MMC3 hack

Two things might help:
  • Does CV3 normally put anything in $6000-$7FFF? If not, something that'd normally be in one of the switchable banks could be relocated to PRG RAM there.
  • Does CV3 use the DMC? If so, the music can be rewritten not to use it, freeing up $C000-$DFFF.

Author:  Airwe [ Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:41 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Castlevania III MMC3 hack

Dwedit wrote:
I'm pretty sure this site doesn't allow hosting copyrighted ROM files. Maybe post an XDelta or BPS patch instead.

I can see a lot of bugs regarding which mirroring mode is used. Since MMC5 lets you pick mirroring modes easily, and so does the MMC3, this seems like it won't be that much of a problem.



Thanks .

Author:  Airwe [ Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:45 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Castlevania III MMC3 hack

tepples wrote:
Two things might help:
  • Does CV3 normally put anything in $6000-$7FFF? If not, something that'd normally be in one of the switchable banks could be relocated to PRG RAM there.
  • Does CV3 use the DMC? If so, the music can be rewritten not to use it, freeing up $C000-$DFFF.


CV3 didn't use $6000-$7FFF,and $C000-$DFFF selected when Dracula is lauging.

Author:  Airwe [ Sat Dec 01, 2012 9:49 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Castlevania III MMC3 hack

tepples wrote:
Don't do anything that could cause Nintendo or a major seller of VC games to get this whole site taken down.


Sorry...

Author:  aarkay_14 [ Fri Jun 19, 2015 12:49 am ]
Post subject:  Re: Castlevania III MMC3 hack

So, is this possible?, do we have a CV3 in MMC3 mapper, that would become really nice for a multicart..

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/