It is currently Tue Nov 20, 2018 9:38 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 3:44 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Jul 01, 2012 12:57 am
Posts: 9
Have not seen any graphic hack to make Luigi has his own sprites. Is it feasibly possible?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Oct 27, 2018 4:00 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Sep 07, 2013 2:59 pm
Posts: 1738
Since "Super Mario Bros." is an NROM game, the graphics are fixed. And they are completely full, so there's no room for more. (There are no unused sprite tiles that could be filled.)

If you simply want regular "Super Mario Bros.", but with Luigi's own sprite, one could probably hack the game into a CNROM game where you can replace the whole graphics at once with a second version. In this version, you could draw Luigi's sprite in the place where Mario's is. Then you needed to switch to this alternate graphics bank whenever it's Luigi's turn.

If you want the two player hack with Luigi's own sprite, this would be a bit more complicated:
Since Mario and Luigi are on screen at once, you need both versions of their sprites on the screen, so you would have to use the different graphics banks not for switching between Mario and Luigi, but to switch the enemies in and out.
And this requires an analyzation which enemy combinations will never share a screen with each other, so that you can load the enemies that are visible in this level and omit the ones that aren't.

_________________
Available now: My game "City Trouble".
Website: https://megacatstudios.com/products/city-trouble
Trailer: https://youtu.be/IYXpP59qSxA
Gameplay: https://youtu.be/Eee0yurkIW4
German Retro Gamer article: http://i67.tinypic.com/345o108.jpg


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:07 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 3:19 am
Posts: 85
You could theoretically also convert SMB1 to the MMC5 mapper which gives you double the sprite pages to work with (in 8x16 sprite mode), thus giving room for Luigi. You'd have to rewrite a pretty big part of the game at this point though, it might be easier to just faithfully recreate most of it from scratch instead.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 6:22 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 20791
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
How much vblank time is open in SMB? Given that enemies are never bigger than 6 tiles (96 bytes of tile data) nor player characters bigger than 8, I imagine a lot of the stuff that doesn't fit could be buffered in CHR RAM like how Battletoads does the player characters and Haunted: Halloween '85 does everything.

Going to UNROM would solve so many problems. Imagine a unique design and name for each of the seven Toads. Imagine a 21-world monster incorporating both Super Mario Bros. and The Lost Levels.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 2:30 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 7724
Location: Seattle
This ROM hack already targets the VRC6.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 5:59 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 6:08 pm
Posts: 334
Location: Missouri
tepples wrote:
Going to UNROM would solve so many problems. Imagine a unique design and name for each of the seven Toads. Imagine a 21-world monster incorporating both Super Mario Bros. and The Lost Levels.

Just like Super Mario Bros. Deluxe on GBC. Except they forgot to put the bounce-off-enemy physics in the Lost Levels, making 7-2 a chore to beat with Mario.
https://youtu.be/3gI6SiaEvKA?t=1572

Almost forgot SMB-D omits world 9 and worlds A-D. Though partially complete versions can be played with Gameshark. Blah.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 2:15 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:46 am
Posts: 22
DRW wrote:
If you want the two player hack with Luigi's own sprite, this would be a bit more complicated:
Since Mario and Luigi are on screen at once, you need both versions of their sprites on the screen, so you would have to use the different graphics banks not for switching between Mario and Luigi, but to switch the enemies in and out.
And this requires an analyzation which enemy combinations will never share a screen with each other, so that you can load the enemies that are visible in this level and omit the ones that aren't.

You could also keep track of what enemies are on screen by making a list in RAM and switch out the unused tiles whenever you needed to load a new enemy type. The list could be something simple like one byte for enemy id and one for instances on screen. There aren't too many enemy types in the game so the list should only require a few bytes.

I'm sure this technique is used in lots of games? Playing an MMC5 game like Batman in an emulator will show you tiles being switched every now and then just from walking back and forth in a level. And they don't always load into the same slots as before, so the game must be keeping track of unused tiles and entities in some way.

EDIT: I guess you would also have to have one more byte in the list for what slot the first tile of the enemy is loaded into, so you could use that as an offset for when you load the sprites into OAM.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 8:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 5:46 am
Posts: 22
Seems someone's gone and done it!

viewtopic.php?f=2&t=4020&start=30

https://www.romhacking.net/hacks/4180/


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Fri Nov 02, 2018 9:22 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 9:55 am
Posts: 336
Location: Phoenix, AZ
With some rearranging of tiles, you can take the 2-frame enemies and put each frame in a different bank and animate with switching. The drawback is that all enemies of the same type would animate together.

Combine that with 8x16 sprites and and swapping the font in and out for the status bar will net you some space to squeeze in Luigi's tiles, or other things like a nicer looking castle.


Attachments:
smb.PNG
smb.PNG [ 23.21 KiB | Viewed 2124 times ]

_________________
. That's just like, your opinion, man .
Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 39 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group