It is currently Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:12 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 5:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:07 am
Posts: 117
Location: Chile (South America), Quilpué
Memblers, do you remember the docs that you link to me??

i think that any little parts are inaccurate:

Switchstance wrote it in a doc:

He says: "En los cartuchos con 32KB la informacion se encontraba en circuitos especiales adheridos llamados Mappers."

It's meaning: "Catridges that use 32 kb of PRG-ROM must using MMC. "

lord_Chile: I think that games with MORE THAN 32kb of PRG-ROM use mappers. He says that games with just 32kb of prg rom use mappers!!, but smb1 is mapper 0 and it uses 32kb of prg-rom!!!...

then because im novice my question is: is correct that games with exactly 32 kb of prg rom use a mapper???? (in think that it's inaccurate)

or just im correct that games ONLY WITH MORE THAN 32kb prg use a mapper????

yeah, just im checking all the docs in order to get something 100% accurate, anyway swichstance made a really excellent work!

good luck, and if is a error when i say that games with only 32kb arent using a mapper... dont say fool to me hahahaahah im only a newbie.


Another question:

swicht says: "More great game in size of official Nintendo was Kirby's Adventure, it was 6 Megabytes in size"... i think that it's inaccurate because kirby was 6 Megabits not Megabyte..

and 8 megabit= 1 megabyte..

then kirby was 6megabit = around 700 kb, near to 1mb..

am i correct??

_________________
Good day to nesdev people. Lord..
Author of nothing =P
UTFSM Sansano programmer.. lord_Chile
Saludos a la Sede JMC de la UTFSM... Viña del Mar, CHILE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 17972
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Technically, without a mapper, the CPU can see just less than 48 KB of PRG ROM ($4018-$FFFF), but NROM boards allow only up to 32 KB. However, some games with 32 KB PRG (CNROM games, MMC1 puzzle games) do use a mapper to bankswitch CHR.

Yes, Kirby's Adventure (one of the top 3 NES/Famicom games in PRG/CHR size) is 6 megabits.


Last edited by tepples on Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:21 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: top 3 games in PRG/CHR
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 8:41 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:07 am
Posts: 117
Location: Chile (South America), Quilpué
Kirby, the another two are???

_________________
Good day to nesdev people. Lord..
Author of nothing =P
UTFSM Sansano programmer.. lord_Chile
Saludos a la Sede JMC de la UTFSM... Viña del Mar, CHILE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:19 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 17972
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
I think the other two (8 Mbit) "legit" games were Japanese RPGs. Kirby's Adventure was the biggest North American official game. Still, some pirate multis are bigger.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 9:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:07 am
Posts: 117
Location: Chile (South America), Quilpué
tepples wrote:
I think the other two (8 Mbit) "legit" games were Japanese RPGs. Kirby's Adventure was the biggest North American official game. Still, some pirate multis are bigger.


Yeah, then another question is: i read that nes dont accept more mbit than 8mbit games.. it's true???

_________________
Good day to nesdev people. Lord..
Author of nothing =P
UTFSM Sansano programmer.. lord_Chile
Saludos a la Sede JMC de la UTFSM... Viña del Mar, CHILE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 10:59 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 17972
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
The NES itself accepts only 48 KB (minus 24 bytes) of PRG and 8 KB of CHR. Anything more is bankswitching, which is limited only by the cost of replication. It's not the NES hardware that wouldn't accept more than 8 megabits; it's the pocketbooks of consumers during the NES era that wouldn't accept more than 50 USD. Nowadays, as the price of ROM has fallen, you can replicate 256 megabits for under 30 USD, as seen on Game Boy Advance.

(This shouldn't be in web issues but in nesdev. Moving.)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: question
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:12 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:07 am
Posts: 117
Location: Chile (South America), Quilpué
tepples wrote:
The NES itself accepts only 48 KB (minus 24 bytes)
(This shouldn't be in web issues but in nesdev. Moving.)


Yeah, for what minus 24 bytes????
and how did you move forum in phpBB, In forum administration??...
i have phpBB and i dont find how to move forums just like you move it.

_________________
Good day to nesdev people. Lord..
Author of nothing =P
UTFSM Sansano programmer.. lord_Chile
Saludos a la Sede JMC de la UTFSM... Viña del Mar, CHILE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: question
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:21 am 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 17972
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
lord_Chile wrote:
tepples wrote:
The NES itself accepts only 48 KB (minus 24 bytes)

Yeah, for what minus 24 bytes????

$0000-$1FFF: CPU RAM and mirrors (8 KB)
$2000-$3FFF: PPU registers and mirrors (8 KB)
$4000-$4017: CPU internal registers (24 bytes)
$4018-$FFFF: Cartridge controlled space, such as PRG ROM, expansion RAM, mapper registers (64 KB minus 8 KB minus 8 KB minus 24 bytes)

Quote:
and how did you move forum in phpBB

If you're a moderator, open a topic and look below all posts to see buttons that look like Image Image Image Image. To move a topic, click Image.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: thanks
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:26 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:07 am
Posts: 117
Location: Chile (South America), Quilpué
ok, i understand.

_________________
Good day to nesdev people. Lord..
Author of nothing =P
UTFSM Sansano programmer.. lord_Chile
Saludos a la Sede JMC de la UTFSM... Viña del Mar, CHILE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 11:57 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:04 pm
Posts: 2119
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
lord_chile wrote:
He says: "En los cartuchos con 32KB la informacion se encontraba en circuitos especiales adheridos llamados Mappers."

It's meaning: "Catridges that use 32 kb of PRG-ROM must using MMC. "


Are you sure that's its meaning? It's exact translation looks like:

In the cartridges with 32kb of information one can find in special circuits something(to stick on?) so called mappers.

I obviously don't know what the word something means. I have been taking spanish for not too long, but I suppose you're right, having known spanish for how ever many years. But is that at all close to the exact translation of that sentence? But I am having trouble with the adheridos part, please correct me on whatever may be incorrect?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Oh yep
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:15 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:07 am
Posts: 117
Location: Chile (South America), Quilpué
It's because i dont be exact translations between languages.. I interprete the language and translate into another..

something... especial = special..

adheridos = stick on or joined...

but anyway he says that games with 32kb of prg use mappers.. anyway i get good response

_________________
Good day to nesdev people. Lord..
Author of nothing =P
UTFSM Sansano programmer.. lord_Chile
Saludos a la Sede JMC de la UTFSM... Viña del Mar, CHILE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:20 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:04 pm
Posts: 2119
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Okay, thanks. I like to use exact translation, and I was a little confused when I saw that. Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: yep
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 7:07 am
Posts: 117
Location: Chile (South America), Quilpué
Celius wrote:
Okay, thanks. I like to use exact translation, and I was a little confused when I saw that. Thanks!


i know that people to learn need exact translation, but for interpreting language, you will not need very much vocabulary.. just my english vocabulary is short... but i get interesting combinations of words.. then it is not very notorious that my vocabulary is short...

_________________
Good day to nesdev people. Lord..
Author of nothing =P
UTFSM Sansano programmer.. lord_Chile
Saludos a la Sede JMC de la UTFSM... Viña del Mar, CHILE


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Feb 20, 2006 12:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 05, 2005 2:04 pm
Posts: 2119
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Yeah, my spanish vocabulary is really really really short. I know like clothing, polite phrases, physical appearance features, describing personality, colors, I can't remember what else I know. Haha, that doesn't make too much sense. But I guess I know like 200 words or something like that. I mean, I know important sentence structure and stuff, so I can just look up some words, and I can tell what some mean, because they are very similiar to the english. Like the spanish word for circuit, was easy to tell. And information is really easy to tell. It's not a hard language to learn, though.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 14 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group