It is currently Wed Oct 18, 2017 11:35 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2016 5:47 pm 

Greetings all, I've recently finished translating/hacking the Japanese prototype of Monster Party and I'm looking to the make the prototype more like the US release and I want to be as thorough as possible. To that end, I believe what I want to do is disassemble the ROM, but I have no experience with this type of thing and I'm looking for advice.

Is there a gold standard for NES disassemblers? I imagine there's more than one out there, but all are probably not equal.

Anyway, that's my main concern, but feel free to impart any more wisdom that might help me.

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2016 5:56 pm 

The cc65 package includes da65, which lets you make a config file for the bank switching (a similar concept to ld65's linker config) and plug in labels for addresses whose meaning you have already discovered, so that you can discover more. When using da65, you iterate over these steps:
  1. Run da65.
  2. Figure out what some of the code does.
  3. Define labels for the parts of the game's ROM map and RAM map that you have puzzled out, and add them to the config file.
  4. Repeat with the new labels until you document the whole thing.

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2016 6:06 pm 

Bisqwit's clever-disasm is hard to beat. It's a tracing disassembler that will automatically follow cross-bank calls, among other things.

It will get thrown by deliberately obfuscated code, but it correctly automatically analyzes jump tables, and its description language is easy to use.

PostPosted: Fri May 13, 2016 6:08 pm 

There is no standard, gold, silver, or lead.

Sadly there is no disassemblers section on the wiki, so it's very difficult to give you a list of all the 6502 disassemblers available (I'll start working on that as we speak). There are several, but none are "magical" in the sense of "magically figure everything out for me!"