It is currently Sat Jan 21, 2017 4:37 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 6:14 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 27
Kind of surprised, but it seems no one has hacked Arkanoid II Famicom to use the NES Vaus (Arkanoid Controller) on the NES? Is that so? I guess another game to hack would be Chase H.Q. Anyhow, I believe zapper games have been modded to look for the controller on the NES 2-player not Famicom Expansion.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sat Sep 10, 2016 8:44 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 12:46 pm
Posts: 862
I think the protocol for zapper on player 2 port is same as Famicom expansion port.

_________________
.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2016 4:33 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Posts: 426
Location: Sweden
Yeah it is, I'm using a Nes Zapper on my Famicom (using a home-made adapter) and playing both Famicom lightgun games and NES Zapper games without any modding.

The expansion port has pretty much all pins that the Nes controller ports have.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Sep 11, 2016 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 17611
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
That works for the Zapper because both the NES and Famicom guns use D3 and D4. But the Famicom Arkanoid controller uses player 1 D1 and player 2 D1 instead of D3 and D4 like the NES Arkanoid controller.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 8:10 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 27
So it can be done?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Sep 14, 2016 9:13 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 5190
Location: Seattle
Of course it can be done.

It's just a question of whether it's a pain.

Funny thing is ... it looks like it might already be being done.

Fceux shows two reading routines in the game:
- At .NES offset 0x1D69B-0x1D6A8 (memory $D68B-$D698) is the loop that reads from joypad 1 and the Famicom Vaus Controller's button.
- At .NES offset 0x1D6BE-0x1D6CF (memory $D6AE-$D6BF) is the loop that reads from joypad 2, the Famicom Vaus's ADC .... as well as explicitly storing the results of the NES Vaus also.

... was there a special two-player pair of Vaus controllers for Arkanoid 2? and I'm using the wrong term here with "NES Vaus" ?

... also, the ADC timing isn't compatible between the FC and NES variants. (The FC vaus has an explicit "load shift register" command, while the NES vaus automatically loads the shift register after the ADC conversion finishes)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 1:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue May 28, 2013 5:49 am
Posts: 426
Location: Sweden
lidnariq wrote:
... was there a special two-player pair of Vaus controllers for Arkanoid 2? and I'm using the wrong term here with "NES Vaus" ?

I think Arkanoid II version of the paddle has an EXP port so you can daisy-chain two paddles for two players.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Sep 15, 2016 1:58 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 5190
Location: Seattle
If you load up Arkanoid 2 in FCEUX, set up both FC expansion port and P2 to both use the Vaus controller, then you can control two paddles in Arkanoid 2 Vs mode. But it looks like there's no two-player cooperative mode.

So it looks like we should be able to lazily just swap P1 and P2, change how the game requests a report from the controller, and you just don't get the 2 player Vs mode.

Try this:
Attachment:
Arkanoid2-patch-use-US-vaus-20160915.ips [50 Bytes]
Downloaded 20 times
It seems to work in FCEUX, but, well...

(sha1sum of file to patch: 79f9d3da1904400832546216833978a2261313a5 = Arkanoid II (J) [!].nes )

EDIT: Use this patch instead, which has been verified to work on hardware against the actual NES Vaus controller.


If this does work, Greg2600, would you be willing to open your Vaus controller and report a few numbers on components inside? We recently had a thread about figuring out what's going on inside the Vaus controller, but it'd be nice to be told exactly what the size of the capacitors are. (The capacitors are the parts that are tan discs without colored stripes, and the green, blue, or pink other components)


Last edited by lidnariq on Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:48 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 4:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 27
Wow, sorry I forgot about the thread. I tried the patch on my Everdrive N8, didn't work. When I run it it goes directly to 2P mode but the Vaus doesn't respond. I can open up the vaus if needed.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 6:11 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 5190
Location: Seattle
Greg2600 wrote:
Wow, sorry I forgot about the thread.
NP!

Quote:
I tried the patch on my Everdrive N8, didn't work. When I run it it goes directly to 2P mode but the Vaus doesn't respond.
Awww.

Also, that's weird. Going directly to 2P mode should only happen if... the game thought that player 2 was pressing a button? But player 2 shouldn't be doing anything at all on an NES. Those bits are always 0 because nothing can be plugged into those pins on an NES...

The patch works correctly in both FCEUX and Mesen... and it's doing what our documentation on the wiki says it should...

I'm kind of at a loss for ideas for why it's not working :/

I assume tepples's various Vaus test programs work correctly on your N8? ( viewtopic.php?p=184333#p184333 , viewtopic.php?t=10662 )

Quote:
I can open up the vaus if needed.
I don't think it'll help this particular problem, and as much as I'd like to know the specific values of the capacitors, I feel like I should trade that knowledge for a working patch.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 10:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 27
Both of those controller tests checked out fine.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 1:52 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 5190
Location: Seattle
Uh... I guess, try this patch? It explicitly discards the results of the button read from [$4016]&$02 instead of pretending it's player 2.


Attachments:
Arkanoid2-patch-use-US-vaus-20161220.ips [50 Bytes]
Downloaded 10 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:07 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 27
With NES pad in P1 and Vaus in P2, still goes right to 2P and selects it on its own. No improvement.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 8:39 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 5190
Location: Seattle
How about this one? It completely disables the Arkanoid controllers' buttons altogether. Won't be great for gameplay, but should let me find out whether the thing that's automatically starting the game is it erroneously thinking the arkanoid button is pressed...


Attachments:
Arkanoid2-patch-use-US-vaus-20161220a.ips [50 Bytes]
Downloaded 10 times
Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 9:43 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 27
Still does it. I don't even have the Vaus plugged in either. Would it make sense to experiment with original Arkanoid (Famicom)?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 29 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group