It is currently Wed Sep 20, 2017 4:44 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:27 pm 
Online
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 852
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Trying to use the command line long option --feature force_range.
It throws back a warning that the feature is illegal, and ignores it.

I've tried, at the coders' suggestion, to update to the latest cc65 windows snapshot. No dice.
Other features seem to work nice, both when expressed as command line options or directives.

I can do without it, but i'm curious why this might be, and how to solve it.

EDIT - RESOLVED:
1)Be sure the version is right.
2)Be sure that windows is using a PATH to the new version, not some old version laying around somewhere else.
3)Be sure not to test that it works in a command prompt opened before editing your PATH, since that would rely on what variable there was when it was opened.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Last edited by FrankenGraphics on Wed Jul 19, 2017 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:50 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 18989
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
What does ca65 --version return? The latest Windows snapshot on cc65.org is outdated, as maintainership has passed to a new party, but control of that domain has not.

Does it work if you specify this particular feature from within the source code, as opposed to on the command line?
Code:
.feature force_range


It might sound like a silly question, but "force_range works nowhere" and "force_range works only in source code, not on the command line" are different bugs to report to the project's issue tracker.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:57 pm 
Online
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 852
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Yeah, sorry, that was a bit unclear of me. I also tested the .feature force_range directive topmost in the main asm file, and it returns the same warning.

Version is V.2.13.3, which i downloaded from https://sourceforge.net/projects/cc65/

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:02 pm 
Online

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 18989
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
2.13.3 is your problem. Here's what I get (albeit on GNU/Linux instead of Windows):
Code:
$ ca65 --version
ca65 V2.16 - Git 0291c92


When did you download it? It might sound like a silly question, but "Windows snapshot on SourceForge is years out of date" is a reportable bug, and not having updated isn't.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:09 pm 
Online
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 852
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
I downloaded and replaced today - twice, just to be sure i had the right link the first time

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 2:21 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 01, 2012 4:10 am
Posts: 65
I just looked into it, when downloading the windows snapshot from sourceforge you do get a recently compiled snapshot (mine is from Jul 18, 2017). --version flag result in following output:
Code:
ca65.exe V2.16 - Git 6002e59

make sure to use this link https://sourceforge.net/projects/cc65/files/latest/download (or the green download button). at the bottom of the sourceforge project-page there is also a win32 snapshot which points to a two year old version.
when you reinstall cc65, check PATH to make sure windows uses the correct version. Even if you put ca65 in the same folder as the asm source code, windows might use the one specified in PATH instead. you could try "./ca65" in order to use the executeable in the same folder you have the commandline work from.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:24 pm 
Online
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 852
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
It seems i got the right version downloaded, but it was just as you suspected: windows pointed to an older version in the program files folder. Now, even if i delete old environment variables and add new, that doesn't seem to do anything. I just ended up with replacing the version in /program files.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:48 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2016 7:56 pm
Posts: 136
FrankenGraphics wrote:
It seems i got the right version downloaded, but it was just as you suspected: windows pointed to an older version in the program files folder. Now, even if i delete old environment variables and add new, that doesn't seem to do anything. I just ended up with replacing the version in /program files.
Did you close and reopen the command prompt after you changed your PATH? Programs only see the environment as it was when they were started, so the command prompt won't use the new PATH unless it's been opened after you change it (assuming you didn't change it in the command prompt itself, anyway).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 3:57 pm 
Online
Formerly WheelInventor

Joined: Thu Apr 14, 2016 2:55 am
Posts: 852
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden
Ah, that did the trick. I used the same prompt when testing. Just tested using the project folder .bat (which opens a new prompt) and it worked. Thanks!

Adding a blurb to the OP and adding resolved to the title.

_________________
http://www.frankengraphics.com - personal NES blog


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group