It is currently Mon Oct 14, 2019 1:24 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 75 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:34 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:27 pm
Posts: 169
the photo i've seen shows an eteprom board with no obvious alterations, so i'm assuming that's what's going on. away from home right now but i've got some famicom donors stashed away to try this on a cart.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:47 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 21625
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
If on ETROM, the city must be smaller than the standard 120x100 cell city.

_________________
Pin Eight | Twitter | GitHub | Patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 12:51 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8608
Location: Seattle
It turns out it's 76x76.

A few other changes have been made to compensate: PD/FD/RCI zones are 2x2 (not 3x3); power plants, stadia, and seaports are 3x3 (not 4x4); airports are 4x4 (not 6x6)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 4:11 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 08, 2015 7:17 pm
Posts: 2574
Location: DIGDUG
Is anyone selling these? (just curious)

_________________
nesdoug.com -- blog/tutorial on programming for the NES


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 5:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 21625
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
We'll know SimCity is getting bootlegged if eBay prices for same-board Koei games (Bandit Kings of Ancient China, L'Empereur, Nobunaga's Ambition II, and Uncharted Waters) shoot up.

_________________
Pin Eight | Twitter | GitHub | Patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 1:49 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:34 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Evansville, IN
Probably not a huge risk there, as the NES version of the PCBs are all on games that are prohibitively expensive already.

_________________
"Can I keep his head for a souvenir?" -Max


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 5:18 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Dec 01, 2009 8:32 pm
Posts: 33
Argh, MMC5! Won't work on a flash cart.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 5:23 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Apr 13, 2008 11:12 am
Posts: 8608
Location: Seattle
Might. It's not using much of the MMC5 beyond 8x8 attributes w/ 16k tile mode.

I wouldn't be surprised if Loopy's MMC5 implementation is adequate.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 6:04 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Apr 07, 2017 5:02 pm
Posts: 33
It has screwed up graphics on Everdrive. It says it's loading on Powerpak, I have the loopy mappers, but then is just a black screen. So it does not appear to work on flash carts currently


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:12 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 19, 2004 7:35 pm
Posts: 4221
Yeah, this is probably the only game that stresses the MMC5?

_________________
Here come the fortune cookies! Here come the fortune cookies! They're wearing paper hats!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:45 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 2317
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
@lupin3rd

To make it from famicom boards would be easier since there must be a pile of Koei games in every bookoff shop :lol: (saw one 2 days ago, complete box for a few hundred yen).


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 9:53 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Posts: 21625
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
But then MMC5 boards are longer than other Famicom cart boards. How would one roll a JOINT to fit it and the board in the NES Game Pak shell?

_________________
Pin Eight | Twitter | GitHub | Patreon


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:01 pm 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 23, 2012 11:27 pm
Posts: 169
there are low profile adapters available that will fit a tall famicom board in a nes shell. may require relocating some components but it can be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2018 12:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 2317
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
Why am I giving ideas for making repro :lol:

Jedi move: there is no such thing as pile of Koei famicom games, no such thing.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Dec 27, 2018 7:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Sep 06, 2016 4:34 pm
Posts: 55
Location: Evansville, IN
Banshaku wrote:
Why am I giving ideas for making repro :lol:

Jedi move: there is no such thing as pile of Koei famicom games, no such thing.
The problem there is that NES owners would need both the gigantic ETROM PCB, as well as a 72-pin adapter, all jammed into an already crammed cart.

Disclaimer: I ordered my Famicom copy of L'Empereur yesterday. :D

_________________
"Can I keep his head for a souvenir?" -Max


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 75 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Majestic-12 [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group