nesdev.com
http://forums.nesdev.com/

Can you export scopes in ca65?
http://forums.nesdev.com/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=17114
Page 1 of 1

Author:  qfwfq [ Sun Mar 04, 2018 4:09 pm ]
Post subject:  Can you export scopes in ca65?

I like the built-in namespacing ca65 provides through .SCOPE/.ENDSCOPE and am hoping to use it in my project. It works fine when I put all of my code in a single file, but when I start to break the code out into separate files, I find I'm unable to make the scopes available other files via the usual mechanisms (.IMPORT, .EXPORT). Has anyone had any luck exporting/importing their scopes?

Author:  rainwarrior [ Sun Mar 04, 2018 6:05 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can you export scopes in ca65?

.import and .export are for passing actual labels around (i.e. something that can be assigned a value), not scopes.

If you want to import/export something that's inside a scope:
Code:
; in exporting file
.scope scoped
   .export thing
   ; thing definied here somewhere
.endscope

; in importing file
.scope scoped
   .import thing
.endscope

Edit: replaced non-working example: .export scoped::thing

I don't think there's any kind of mechanism to import/export all symbols in a scope.

You could make a "header" file like C and use .global for all the symbols within a scope that should be public.
Edit: duplicate scope error seems to prevent the ability to use .global for scoped exports.

Author:  tepples [ Sun Mar 04, 2018 6:14 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can you export scopes in ca65?

rainwarrior wrote:
If you want to import/export something that's inside a scope:
Code:
.export scoped::thing


I don't think there's any kind of mechanism to import/export all symbols in a scope.

There's an open feature request for something similar to .import scoped::*.

Author:  pubby [ Sun Mar 04, 2018 6:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can you export scopes in ca65?

rainwarrior wrote:
Code:
.export scoped::thing



I've never been able to get that to work. I've resorted to doing hacks like this:

Code:
.export foo
foo = scoped::thing


Otherwise I get errors.

Author:  rainwarrior [ Sun Mar 04, 2018 7:01 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can you export scopes in ca65?

Ah apologies, was going by my fallible memory. (Haven't actually done it in a while.)

You can put the .export within the .scope, and on the .import side you can do the same.

Unfortunately this seems to preclude the use of .global for this, because they assembler has a "duplicate scope" error for some reason.

Author:  tokumaru [ Sun Mar 04, 2018 7:17 pm ]
Post subject:  Re: Can you export scopes in ca65?

Scopes in ca65 are pretty cool, but there are several gotchas that prevent them from being as useful as they initially appear to be. To avoid these problems, I currently use scopes only to delimit labels, and if any scoped labels need access from the outside, I create global aliases for them.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 7 hours
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/