It is currently Sun Dec 16, 2018 7:39 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 7:45 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 2130
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
There is one part that I may need to skip a part of the background by a few line to make a certain part look connected and or continuous. I remember testing with a raster effect on the mmc3 and it did work but I only tested the background itself, not with other element like sprite on top in a real environment.

For now I do not need to know if there is other way to do it but if the background lines are skipped this way, does it have an impact on the sprites? My guess is no because if it did then maybe effect like, for example, the presentation of a robot master in mega man that "grows" the banner which just seems a part hidden with a raster that is shown gradually.

Is there other thing to be careful when skipping part that way?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 8:32 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Tampere, Finland
What do you mean by "skipping a part"? The only way I can see that it would affect sprites is if you're doing stuff like disabling rendering (and even in that case it will only cause problems if you disable BOTH background and sprite rendering, as that would turn off the background/sprite fetching/evaluation logic).

Sprite rendering is pretty much entirely separate from background rendering.

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: fo.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:27 am 
Online
User avatar

Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2008 8:38 pm
Posts: 2130
Location: Fukuoka, Japan
I will answer what I meant by skipping but I think you already answered my question with this:

thefox wrote:
Sprite rendering is pretty much entirely separate from background rendering.


So there should be no impact to the sprites on screen since I'm working on the background.

I have a scenario where I need to scroll vertically from 1 screen to the other. Between the 2 screens there is a gap. I skip the lines of the gap with an interrupt so it looks like both screen are connected. The sprite would be around that gap when during the transition so if the sprites were affected that would have been an issue.

I remember testing if it was doable with an mmc3 and the background part was fine, both screen seemed connected during the scroll even though there was a gap between them.

I won't need it for my game specifically but for one experiment it was necessary. Only one part was left and will test it once I have a chance.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 9:31 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2005 10:36 am
Posts: 3141
Location: Tampere, Finland
Ah yeah, in that case (if you're only modifying the scroll/address registers) it should be perfectly OK.

Crystalis uses that technique with MMC3 to skip over the status bar.

_________________
Download STREEMERZ for NES from fauxgame.com! — Some other stuff I've done: fo.aspekt.fi


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2018 12:33 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 12, 2004 2:49 pm
Posts: 7604
Location: Chexbres, VD, Switzerland
Enabling only background or only sprites still makes everything works normally, only disabling both simultaneously creates the forced blanking which has other effects such as stopping the PPU from fetching data and updating scroll registers.

For some reason really few games ever disable sprites or background separatedly, some goes as far as using a blank CHR-ROM bank where a simple $2001 write would have done the same trick. However I can name 3D-Worldrunner which disables the background for its pits.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group