It is currently Fri Oct 19, 2018 10:17 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

Post subject: Arcade Game Designer
PostPosted: Thu Sep 27, 2018 5:20 pm 

Hello everyone

My name is Allan. I'm actually a z80 game coder, and I helped work on updating an engine for a game designer which uses a simple syntax to then assemble games into machine language. Originally it was exclusive to the ZX Spectrum (classic British computer), developed over many years by Jonathan Cauldwell, and dozens of excellent games have been written. The engine currently supports software sprites, room layouts, maps and so on and is fast and easy to use even for beginners. I myself have completed three games which have been published. It's a great way for less experienced coders to create games, and is one of the reasons the Spectrum homebrew scene is so healthy.

Recently the engine has been converted to the 6502, and as a result dozens of games which were designed on the ZX Spectrum are now playable on the Acorn Atom and the BBC Micro (yes, this is a British thing at the moment). A 6809 and MSX engine are also in progress, with other machines under consideration.

I've owned and loved the NES for many years but hadn't considered writing games for it until recently. Obviously the hardware is different, particularly with regard to hardware sprites and so on, but I think it would be a great machine to add to the 'roster' so we're looking for someone interested in maybe joining our team to help with that. We're a very relaxed group of old school coders, there is no pressure or deadlines, everything is open source and not for profit, we just enjoy working together on the challenge and the excitement of seeing games written on one machine being converted to another without any change to the core code, because each system has its own compiler and engine. The system outputs source code in assembly which can then be built, or edited if you have the experience.