It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 10:11 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Mon Jul 10, 2006 2:59 pm 

My name is kurt and i play in a band called the depreciation guild. I have no experience with programming but i create NES music which is used for our group. We're currently looking to make a sidescroller game that features the 2 members of the band, for possible cartridge release on the NES or as a ROM for emulator use. We know that this is an ambitious project but we're pretty serious about it and want to make it happen. I'm wondering how possible it will be to do this, given the constraints of modern hardware. Also, I have a few questions:

1.) We could handle the sound aspect of the game and we have plenty of friends who are artists, but would we need an artist who knows how to program in 6502 assembler code (if that's what it's called), to make the game art?

2.) Would creating a game involve writing 100% original code or are there development tools available for writing, let's say, a sidescroller game?

3.) Is it possible to even create a game with a team of only a few people?

4.) Obviously, there would be $$$ involved for helping us undertake this project. What would be a reasonable pay for the writing of the game code?

5.) What is a reasonable time frame for a game to be created in?

Email me at gibson781@gmail.com if you're interested. Thanks!!

-Kurt

Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Jul 11, 2006 1:04 am 

1 - No, artists don't have to know a lot about programming. Just know about how the PPU works, and know the hardware limitation with tiles and color. If you're in a team, artists and programmers should work together to got a great results but the artists doesn't have to know programming, they should just be supported by a programmer that can tell them if what they want to do is possible or not on the hardware.