It is currently Sun Sep 15, 2019 7:35 pm

All times are UTC - 7 hours





Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:09 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:13 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Lower East Side
dougeff mentioned on NES: Technique for debugging CC65 code? that you can set breakpoints to debug in FCEUX.

Unfortunately, on my Mac the brew-installed version of FCEUX does not include the ROM-specific File menu dropdowns which let you debug. My screenshot: https://imgur.com/a/iTwvNz4 versus a Windows screenshot from Youtube: https://imgur.com/a/4fyExHc

I love stepping through code to debug...has anyone had luck debugging a ROM in any emulator on a Mac?


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:21 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 12:03 pm
Posts: 7582
Location: Canada
The SDL version of FCEUX doesn't have the debugger, unfortunately.

I believe you can use Wine to run the Windows version, though I haven't tried that personally.


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 10:18 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2016 6:29 am
Posts: 903
Location: Denmark (PAL)
Isn't there a Mac version of Nesicide? That supports breakpoints, even if they are a bit awkward (remember to set them after a succesful build)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 4:28 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Jan 21, 2019 1:51 am
Posts: 1
I use Nintaco (https://nintaco.com/) when developing on mac. You can download the pre-packaged jar and it has similar development tools as mesen (debugger which supports breakpoints, oem/nametables viewer etc). I found bug where the emulator wouldn't register input if I connected an external keyboard but other than that it works pretty alright :)


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 5:07 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:13 pm
Posts: 17
Location: Lower East Side
Nintaco has rather straight-forward debugging features, I'll try that.

Thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
PostPosted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:30 am 
Offline
NESICIDE developer
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 7:55 pm
Posts: 1089
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Sumez wrote:
Isn't there a Mac version of Nesicide? That supports breakpoints, even if they are a bit awkward (remember to set them after a succesful build)

Indeed there is...
https://knob.phreneticappsllc.com/nesicide/?s=download
I'm working on updating the Travis deployments. So far Mac and Linux builds are deployed from latest build. Windows is coming but is not yet working properly in Travis.

Can you say more about breakpoints being awkward?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 7 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group