Page 1 of 1

Can you set breakpoints to debug ca65 code on a mac?

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:09 am
by ericandrewlewis
dougeff mentioned on NES: Technique for debugging CC65 code? that you can set breakpoints to debug in FCEUX.

Unfortunately, on my Mac the brew-installed version of FCEUX does not include the ROM-specific File menu dropdowns which let you debug. My screenshot: https://imgur.com/a/iTwvNz4 versus a Windows screenshot from Youtube: https://imgur.com/a/4fyExHc

I love stepping through code to debug...has anyone had luck debugging a ROM in any emulator on a Mac?

Re: Can you set breakpoints to debug ca65 code on a mac?

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 9:21 am
by rainwarrior
The SDL version of FCEUX doesn't have the debugger, unfortunately.

I believe you can use Wine to run the Windows version, though I haven't tried that personally.

Re: Can you set breakpoints to debug ca65 code on a mac?

Posted: Sun Jan 20, 2019 10:18 am
by Sumez
Isn't there a Mac version of Nesicide? That supports breakpoints, even if they are a bit awkward (remember to set them after a succesful build)

Re: Can you set breakpoints to debug ca65 code on a mac?

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 4:28 am
by typedef
I use Nintaco (https://nintaco.com/) when developing on mac. You can download the pre-packaged jar and it has similar development tools as mesen (debugger which supports breakpoints, oem/nametables viewer etc). I found bug where the emulator wouldn't register input if I connected an external keyboard but other than that it works pretty alright :)

Re: Can you set breakpoints to debug ca65 code on a mac?

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 5:07 am
by ericandrewlewis
Nintaco has rather straight-forward debugging features, I'll try that.

Thanks!

Re: Can you set breakpoints to debug ca65 code on a mac?

Posted: Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:30 am
by cpow
Sumez wrote:Isn't there a Mac version of Nesicide? That supports breakpoints, even if they are a bit awkward (remember to set them after a succesful build)
Indeed there is...
https://knob.phreneticappsllc.com/nesicide/?s=download
I'm working on updating the Travis deployments. So far Mac and Linux builds are deployed from latest build. Windows is coming but is not yet working properly in Travis.

Can you say more about breakpoints being awkward?