It is currently Sat Mar 23, 2019 9:21 am

All times are UTC - 7 hours

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:26 pm 

Hello, I'm new to trying to develop games on the NES. I wanted to create a fully fledged NES game, but I've been searching numerous tutorials for the past few days and finding little results on how. I found a few sources for trying to code NES in python, javascript, etc. that just didn't work, so I've settled with trying to learn 6502 assembly language and using an assembly program.

Where I've gotten stumped now though is I can't figure out how these programs work and no amount of google searching has helped me here. I've tried CA65 and NESASM, and I can't figure out how they're supposed to actually function. From what I've gathered, you need to write code in notepad, and save it as some sort of file that you can then assemble into an .NES file by running the assembler, but I'm still completely unsure how or what needs to be done. Can anyone here who is experienced help me with this?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:30 pm 

You ask the same question as in this topic.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but by balance of probabilities, I'll assume you're using Windows, not macOS or GNU/Linux. Do you know how to use the Command Prompt?

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:34 pm 

tepples wrote:
You ask the same question as in this topic.

Correct me if I'm wrong, but by balance of probabilities, I'll assume you're using Windows, not macOS or GNU/Linux. Do you know how to use the Command Prompt?

I have tried both Windows and Linux, I can use either, I run both at the same time. Also, I have very little knowledge in using CMD, but I can use the Linux terminal.

PostPosted: Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:37 pm 

It seems tepples snipped me already :lol: