Questions About the PowerPak

Discuss technical or other issues relating to programming the Nintendo Entertainment System, Famicom, or compatible systems.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
djcouchycouch
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:30 am

Questions About the PowerPak

Post by djcouchycouch » Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:45 pm

I'm real interested in ordering a PowerPak, but from the product page, I saw:

"There may still be some sprite related graphics glitches on some NES systems."

In which cases do the glitches occur?
On which systems?


Also,
how often does the mappers file get updated?
Is it pretty stable so far for most games?

User avatar
qbradq
Posts: 943
Joined: Wed Oct 15, 2008 11:50 am

Post by qbradq » Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:48 pm

All I know for sure is that it does not work on most clone systems, which is why I never got one. Well, that an the fact that Compact Flash is a major for inconvenience me.

djcouchycouch
Posts: 97
Joined: Sat May 28, 2011 10:30 am

Post by djcouchycouch » Fri Jun 17, 2011 5:50 pm

I've got an original NES, so that shouldn't be a problem.

The description gives the impression that it might have glitches for even original hardware.

tepples
Posts: 21837
Joined: Sun Sep 19, 2004 11:12 pm
Location: NE Indiana, USA (NTSC)
Contact:

Post by tepples » Fri Jun 17, 2011 6:07 pm

As I understand it, the sprite glitch comes from early units that had noise issues related to bus capacitance. Later units used resistors on certain data lines, which fixed OAM DMA.

But this notice caused me a lot of angst when I ran into a problem with sprite flicker a couple years ago when I was working on LJ65. I had someone try it with an EPROM programmer, and it turned out to be not the PowerPak's fault at all but a newly discovered glitch in the PPU's OAM refresh.

User avatar
tokumaru
Posts: 11519
Joined: Sat Feb 12, 2005 9:43 pm
Location: Rio de Janeiro - Brazil

Post by tokumaru » Fri Jun 17, 2011 7:20 pm

AFAIK, the sprite glitches were fixed for good. I bought one of the early carts and indeed there were sprite issues, but after modding it I have never seen such problems again. The current carts already come with the fix, and I have never heard of anyone complaining about sprite corruption.

User avatar
MottZilla
Posts: 2832
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 8:18 pm

Re: Questions About the PowerPak

Post by MottZilla » Sat Jun 18, 2011 11:17 am

shawnleblanc wrote: Also,
how often does the mappers file get updated?
Is it pretty stable so far for most games?
Not very often. It's very stable for all games that work. It's not some unsound hardware, it works very well. But you need a real NES console.

Post Reply